2004-09-24 : The Iguana had to have his toe amputated!
Yes..this IS actually my diary. I decided I wanted to try something new. So, what does everybody think? I really like the Twiggy image and I think the type is larger and easier to read, but it's so lacking in COLOR like my previous template (which I saved and might go back to if I decide I don't like all this grey and white..)
The guestbook doesn't seem to be working, but earlier "Signmyguestbook.com" was down anyway, so I don't know if it's me or them..Hmmmm...

There must be some sort of concert going on at Island Park. At first, when the sun was going down, I could hear what I thought sounded sort of like gospel or something. Then I later heard something that sounded sort of like Rap, and now it sounds sort of like Soul. I have no idea...but the booming beat is creeping up the hill and echoing against our windows.

Today I went to the mall and saw "Little Black Book"..I figured, for a $1.00..what the hell. It was ok. No better or worse than I thought it was. I do like Holly Hunter. I thought the whole "Carly Simon" obsession in the movie was sort of interesting and slightly funny. Other than that it was your typical Hollywood movie without much going for it...but I'm a movie snob (sometimes..) so I'm probably not being fair. I mean, my other options were things like "Predator vs. Alien" and there is no way I'd even pay to see that and then other things like "White Chicks" which again..NO WAY! "Super Size Me" was there and that was a great documentary but I've already seen it and it would be pointless to see it again...that's the way documentaries are (more so than fictional films)....Unless we are talking about Mockumentaries like "The Rutles" or earlier things like Luis Bunuel's "Land Without Bread" or "Spinal Tap" or maybe some other Christopher Guest movie. I mean, alot of people re-read their favorite books, but that isn't something I've ever really been keen on. I just don't like to repeat much of anything...there are exceptions, though, of course...where the hell am I going with this?

After the movie I ate a "Sweetwaters" which is supposed to be a semi-upscale restaurant within the mall. It is for those that get freaked out by things like "Hometown Buffet" (which is right next door) or feel like eating something better than the Food Court fast food shit (which is usually all I can afford)...I spent Larry's $$ today (some of it) though because..well, it was there and I just couldn't take it anymore (not going anywhere, not eating out, etc.) I had French Onion Soup and a Salad...pretty tasty, though the Soup was WAYYY too Salty for me. I also got a little hair trim because I saw myself in the reflection of some window like Mariposa and thought "Jesus....your hair looks like SHITE!" Getting a haircut at one of those cheap places has become sort of nerve-wracking for me. They wrap that gauze strip around my neck and it feels so tight and then the town is always so tight and I have always had this THING about things around my neck (hence, my hatred of turtlenecks)..it makes me feel like I can't breathe!! Then there is my inability to make small talk with the hairstylist. They rarely try to make small talk with me, either..I don't know if I give off a shy vibe or a snob vibe or what, but I Honestly just have very little to say to strangers in a mall. Hmmmm...Who talks when getting their haircut and who says very little? I'm curious!! But then there is the strange phenomenon of having just talked on the phone with my new friend I'm meeting tommorrow. We'd been emailing back and forth and we just talked for the first time and it was SO comfortable. It was almost like I've already known her for years, but yet she's pretty much a total STRANGER! Funny how things like that happen! She's a kick in the pants! Her voice or SOMETHING reminds me of an old friend, but I can't figure out WHICH friend she reminds me of...but she reminds me of someone...maybe that's why I felt so comfy!

Oops...I showed Larry my new Twiggy design and he came across the conversation I had typed in last entry and said "what the hell is this?" and I didn't really know how to explain, so I sort of ushered him away. I wanted him to see the new layout but not READ what I wrote about him. I hope he's not secretly irritated. Aw fuck..in some ways I don't care right now. He's sick with a sore throat and very grumpy and sullen and I feel sorry for him but I also secretly feel irritated that he's sick and grumpy. Not very charitable..I know.

Oh, I was walking by Goodwill today and I noticed instantly this obnoxiously beautiful Orange Cardigan Sweater in the display window. I just had to have it. I haven't had an orange cardigan in forever and we all know how I feel about orange. It turns out it's 100% Alpaca. The lady pointed it out to me and I said "what's an alpaca" and she told me they are sort of like llama's...interesting!!

I have an interview tommorrow morning (I KNOW..a Saturday interview?) at 10 am. It would be a part-time office assistant for a Chiropractor. The lady that I would be working with sounds really nice and she informed me that The Doc has his dog AND his Iguana (in a cage) at the office and I think that is totally cool. I'm not so sure about the Iguana wandering around on the floor, though...I guess he does that sometimes and then you have to put him back in his cage so he doesn't get hit by the door opening when patients come in..I guess he already got his toe stuck in the door and had to have it AMPUTATED! Poor thing...wouldn't want that! Anyways, this might also be a cool job to have. I haven't heard back about the Psychologist assistant position yet..*sniff*....I hope I get one or the other. Well, it's pizza time..Happy Friday!