2004-12-04 : My mom is the Bestest and so is our new guest room!!
Man, I CANNOT get this Grant Lee Buffalo song "Soft Wolf Tread" out of my head. I know I posted the lyrics in an entry ages and ages ago. I love Grant Lee Phillips take on the Little Red Riding Hood Thing (which is what that song is about)...What is it about Little Red Riding Hood, anyway, that is so fascinating to me? I think it's the whole metaphor thing...I think it's that classic example of fairy tales and lore that seem one way on the surface but reveal a MUCH darker underbelly. Know what I mean?? There is that blatant and strange sexual aspect of the Wolf/Hood relationship and loss of innocence, etc.(or am I just reading into that?) Hmmm..something to ponder.

I've been feeling pretty cheery the past few days. I got my first paycheck yesterday and it feels SO good to have my own money, even if it's a fairly small amount. Just being able to go into Walgreens and buy myself what I need without asking Larry for money..it feels really liberating!! I bought some more 5-HTP and some batteries for my walkman, and some black liquid eyeliner. I rarely wear make-up, but I have this compulsion when I go into drug stores or places like Target to buy an item or two of cheap make-up. But then I end up rarely using it. I like black liquid eyeliner. It looks more dramatic (and is easier to apply than those splintery pencil eyeliners) and I guess it reminds me of 1966 or something. A solid black line just on the upper lid. Or maybe I'm going for a new look, which will include wearing makeup on a more regular basis (I go through these phases all the time...) See, I also bought some hair dye because my hair/roots look like shit. My hair has faded to a light red/orange..it reminds me of a dead Christmas tree, and all my grey is totally showing (I have a ton of grey hair right at my part in the front)...so while I was searching for the "perfect" hair color (I like to switch it up now and again) I made a BRAVE (but possibly very BAD) purchase. I have never tryed Burgundy, so I'm gonna go Burgundy. I have a feeling it'll look too dark and I'll look awful and washed out with it, but I'm willing to take the chance. I just don't want it looking too close to black or something...Maybe I'll only leave it on for 15 minutes or so...I'm not sure. Trust me, you'll hear back from me on the results (esp. if I am not pleased with the results!)

I rented two DVD's last night which I have yet to watch. I rented "Saved" because I heard it's hilarious and I rented "Dogville" because I like Lars Von Trier's movies. I remember being enthralled by "Breaking the Waves"...The lady at Blockbuster was warning me that "Dogville" is really 'hard to watch' but that she really enjoyed it. I told her that I enjoy difficult, disturbing movies, so I'm looking forward to it.

I really want to see "Finding Neverland" but it isn't playing in Eugene yet..WHY?

Last night Larry finished up our new guestroom. We put the futon in there and he put some of his books on the shelves and we hung my "Lady of Shallot" framed picture up and WOW! I LOVE this new room in all it's guava-colored splendor. It's my favorite room in our house currently. I love our bedroom, too, but this new room is NEW and has such a warm, inviting look to it. I think I'll be sitting down there reading alot.

I work at Harry and David tommorrow from 11 until 7:30 pm. It'll be strange to work all day on a Sunday, but in a way I'm kind of glad...I have always found Sunday to be the most depressing day of the week and this way I'll be distracted. Plus, I have a feeling that working there on the weekends is more quiet and less busy than during the weekdays, but I could be dead wrong. We shall see.

Mom has me researching Massage Schools in Portland for her. She's talking (and I really think she's serious this time) about moving to Portland again. Her lease ends in August and she's thinking she might just up and move to Portland then. I keep praying that she does. It would be so wonderful to have my lovely mother living only a few hours away from me! God! I hope she does it! PLEAAASSSE! I miss her so much! For those of you that don't know my mom, she totally ROCKS! She's always been a great mom, but now that I am older, we are the best of friends, plus, I turned out to be quite a bit like her, so you KNOW she's gotta be cool..ha ha!