2004-12-18 : Poor Self Image, an unexpected Amber Necklace, and errands in the fog
I'm feeling sleepy right now. Woke up at 7am and couldn't fall back asleep, so I went downstairs and laid in our guest room but never fell back asleep. Then I wrapped the remaining xmas presents that are for my mom and for myself (wrapping my own gifts from larry...it's sort of silly, but I don't mind. I don't mind not being surpised either..) Then Larry and I talked to Tracita and Hans for about an hour. That was nice. Tracita told me a funny story involving her and her sister-in-law, too much alcohol, at a bar until 5 am, and a little fisticuffs between Tracita and some girl at the bar as Tracita was trying to defend the honor of her sister-in-law, who was in some drunken and heated debate with this stranger girl.

Larry made the kitchen spotless and our roomie, C, made the downstairs spotless and on Monday I will make our bathroom/bedroom spotless (and the rest of the house is already pretty tidy/clean anyway) so that when my mom arrives on Tuesday she won't think we are a bunch of slobs (which we are..well, Larry isn't that bad of a slob, though we are both bad at keeping the bathroom clean)

Then I came upstairs to take a shower and when I looked in the mirror, I frowned at my naked body as I looked at it's flab and 25-30 pounds overweight girth and I just burst into tears and had a crying fit about how I hate my body right now and know I need to diet and exercise, but have poor will power and low energy to be committed to that. Larry came upstairs and I told him why I was crying (this was after I was showered and clothed...it's weird crying big balls of snot while already dripping wet under the showerhead!) and Larry hugged me and listened and told me that he was attracted to me for who I was and not just for what I looked like and that was nice. I need to feel good about MYSELF, though.

Then Larry got the mail and a little box had arrived from my brother...I couldn't wait to get home and open it, but first we had some errands to run. We went to quizno's, where I ate the least fattening/calorific little sandwich I could find, and we also mailed off some letters/bills. Then we went to Mini Pet Mart and got Nature's Miracle to put on areas of the carpet downstairs that STILL smell like cat pee no matter how much we clean them with pet odor-removing products and we also got three little mice toys for Mouse, Poppy and Opal. Opal has been tossing her mouse toy up in the air and chasing it all over the room. When we came home, I opened my brothers box and inside was a big box of my favorite Nag Champa incense and also a beautiful amber amulet on a silver chain. I need to call him and thank him for the necklace..it's gorgeous. So, anyways, I felt alot better about myself once I put my amber necklace on (it's chocker length) and then we found a 20% off coupon for Bed, Bath and Beyond, so we decided to go over there to buy another set of these cool, retro-looking glasses and also to buy some badly needed sheets. We got bright red sheets. I've always wanted bright red sheets. I can't wait to see how they will look on our bed. They will match the color of some of our bedroom walls. We decided to browse in some of the other shops in Oakway Center....walked through Borders and saw some cool Calendars. I need a 2005 calendar. I saw several that I want, but I'll narrow it down to just one.

It's SOOO foggy out today and in the twilight, while driving around and listening to Wire ("Chairs Missing") it all seemed a little surreal and also perfect in some indescribable way.

We ended our errands by shopping for a little bit of food at Fred Meyer. We bought fruit and veggies and low-fat items such as pretzels and cottage cheese because we both want to see if we can eat better and lose a bit of weight. Tonight I'll be cooking very thin porkchops in olive oil, sauteed garlic, and the juice of one lime and we'll be eating steamed broccolli with that.

I'm glad to be done with Harry and David. Now I have time off until January 2nd, when I start a temp job at the University of Oregon bookstore, and best of all..MOM IS COMING ON TUESDAY!!