2004-12-29 : Mommy musings, an Engagement and Oompah Loompah Lyrics
Man, I've been trying to post an entry for an hour and the servers have been down.

I'm feeling crampy and lazy and lonely (Mom left yesterday and I HATE it when my relatives leave) and I miss her. I don't think I'll go anywhere today. I spent about 4 hours at the library yesterday, reading a huge chunk of "The Time Travelers Wife"....there are some really sad and disturbing images about miscarriages in part of the book and it was all I could do not to cry in the library. I was obsessing over this one image in the book as I was walking to meet Larry. I felt like I was in a trance after spending so much time reading and being lost in that book. There is something about the book that sort of is a mind-fuck. The whole concept of time travel is a mind-fuck, anyway. The book is brilliant, though. It's weird to read about bleeding and then start my period today (but not all that strange..I am on the pill, after all, and my periods are very predictable)

I've been thinking alot about children lately and I guess I've been trying to think about when I might want to start trying to have a baby. I was telling my mom that I might end up being pregnant by the time she moves to Portland, or in the next year or so. I guess reading about the miscarriages freaked me out...I was applying it to myself...wondering if I would get pregnant and then have a miscarriage for some reason. Anyways, I'm talking nonsense.

My mom called me up last night to say she made it home to Illinois just fine, but mostly to tell me that my brother is going to get engaged over the New Year. He's been together with his girlfriend for less than a year but even from the very start he has always told me that she might be "the one"...He went to an antique store and bought her an antique platinum ring...art deco style. It sounds gorgeous. My brother is turning 30 on Dec. 31st and He, Carie (his girl) and my step-dad and some of my brothers' friends are going to Las Vegas for New Years to celebrate my brothers birthday and he'll propose to Carie then. I think that is really romantic (though I don't find Las Vegas to be anything but tacky)...I wish them luck! I wish I could go to Vegas to celebrate with him, but I can't afford it. I've never been to Vegas, actually. I've never really had any desire to, even though everybody keeps telling me that I gotta check it once in my life. I'd rather check out New Orleans or Europe, thanks!

Larry has been the boxed set buying fool since Christmas. He bought Rhino's "Left of the Dial" boxed set (it's great!) and even better, he bought Rhino's "No Thanks" boxed set, which is chock full of 70's punk rock that I love (and I'm GLAD John Lyndon wouldn't give permission to include any Sex Pistols songs, cuz they are so overblown anyway...never did care for them, though I do like a few songs)...Give me The Heartbreakers, The Saints, The Buzzcocks, The Damned, The Ramones,Television, The Adverts, The Clash (and many others I'm forgetting) instead. I bought Wipers "Over the Edge"..it was only $7.95, and now I think I know why. I think Greg Sage personally dropped it off (it's homemade I think...which is why it won't play on my regular stereo..and there is no copyright, record label or anything on it), but now I'm a little pissed that it won't play on the stereo. It barely plays on the computer...it must be more of an MP3 format or something. I guess the record store can sell that sort of thing if it comes directly from a band member (He only lives up in Portland, so it makes sense...) I also bought a newly released dvd. It's "The Dead Boys: live at CBGB's: 1977"..can't wait to watch that! I'm done spending money, though! I need to save the rest for necessary purchases!

I got some strange google hits today and yesterday: "oompah loompah lyrics", "Does your heart stop when you sneeze?", "fainting stories", "Irish Asshole" and least but not last: "White Trash Photo Album"...ha ha.