2005-01-31 : Sweet Creek Falls
So, I have my "2nd" interview with Leavitt's Freight service in about 2 hours. I just KNOW I have the job, so I'm not nervous. I'm so excited about starting a job!!

Since the buses are probably striking, my roomie Chris said he'd be glad to take me to work in the mornings until the strike is over. That is cool of him. I hope someone there is nice enough to give me a ride home (even if they don't live really close to me!)

Friday night we went to a function for Symantec (where Larry works). They didn't have a Christmas party. In place they had this Winter Celebration thingie. It was held at the Hilton and Man, it's pretty swanky in there. There was a full buffet dinner that was delicious (though I avoided the prime rib...I hate meat that is that pink) and you got 2 free drinks. Some people were dressed to the nines, but Larry and I were pretty casual. I don't own a long evening gown, anyway!
They had a terrible 80's cover band, called Riffle, playing...but most people didn't pay attention to them because they also had a fake Vegas deal set up. The whole theme of the party was "Vegas night" and they gave you $1500.00 in fake cash to go gambling with. We sat at one of the Black Jack tables for several hours. I know nothing about gambling, but eventually I learned the 21 game and started playing and did quite well for awhile. Larry was kicking ass until the end. Whoever had the most "money" at the end (out of all the tables) won a plasma TV or something. We didn't win, obviously, but what normally would have been a very dull night turned into a lot of fun!!

Saturday Larry had to work at the Wireless store and I went to see Sideways. Loved it. Laughed so hard my stomach hurt. I also found it sort of touching...I mean, not only was it a comedy, but there were moments of sadness in it, as well.

Yesterday we drove out to Sweet Creek Falls (which is about an hour from here)....what a beautiful place. We saw people kayaking on the rapids (something I would never have the balls to do) as we made our way up to the top of the falls. It was a fairly easy hike. It was about 3.5 miles roundtrip, so I was able to handle it. I'm a little stiff in the legs today, but nothing more than that. Everything was SO damp and wet and I breathed it all in because it felt so refreshing and clean and I was amazed at the amount of moss hanging off all the trees. The moss was so thick and prevalent that it was almost like we were in Louisana in a swamp or something. I kept telling Larry about how much I've always admired moss. I love it's smell, it's toxic green color and it's soft cushion. I teased him saying that I was developing MOSS MADNESS while on our hike. We took some pictures and I hope they turn out well.