2005-02-08 : Dutch Food and Feisty Mothers
I think this entry will mostly be about food because I can't think of anything else to say. Last night I attempted a Dutch dish that Hans made for us one time when those guys still lived here. I forgot to drain the jar of pickled red cabbage that you use, so it made things a little too wet,but it still tasted yummy. Basically, it's a layered dish that you cook in the oven in a big round Pyrex bowl. The bottom layer is the sweet-n-sour type of red cabbage that you can find in a jar. The second layer are diced cooking apples (Larry didn't cut them small enough though so they didn't cook all the way), the next layer is ground beef (which you cook in advance) and it's all topped off with mashed potatoes, which brown and fluff up slightly in the oven. It's yummers and very filling!!

Tonight I'm making "Italian Sausage and Navy Bean Stew" which I saw a recipe for yesterday in one of my cookbooks. Sounds tasty.

I'm reading Banana Yoshimoto's "Amrita" which is the only book I haven't yet read of hers. I love her stuff. I wonder if she has more recent books out..I'll check into that. This one was written in 1994. I've already read "Kitchen", "Lizard" and "NP"..are there any others?

Mom sent me an email today stating that she is sick of her job and tired of living in Champaign and plans to come out here in May. She is now most likely moving to Eugene and commuting up to Salem to attend Massage School, rather than just moving straight to Portland. I like that idea!! She'll probably live with us for awhile. I hope she can stand living with the guys downstairs!! I hate the bathroom down there..even when it's "clean" it just grosses me out..it always seems dirty, no matter what. I don't know why that bathroom has always grossed me out so much. Mom then sent me a second email telling me that she was in a man-hating mood and that she drove by her old boyfriends office today (it was on the way to somewhere else) and she flipped the office ("him") off and she said all the men (her two ex-husbands and a few boyfriends) could all rot in hell. It makes me laugh when she's all fired up like that!!

Well, I'm gonna eat the leftovers from last night and watch Cary Grant in "Penny Serenade"!!