2005-02-28 : The Machinist
I saw "The Machinist" on Saturday afternoon. What a movie!! It was strange because before seeing the movie, I was enjoying the sunshine and even went to the Pearl St. Ice Cream Parlour down the street for a hot fudge sundae. When you enter the world of "The Machinist" everything is very grey-washed. The atmosphere of the movie was incredibly thick and Christian Bale was SO emaciated that he was painful to look at. The movie was very Lynch-ian in my opinion, but with more clarity than David Lynch usually ends up feeding his audience. As far as literary reference it reminded me of Kafka and Doestoevsky (I probably butchered that) and I think the director/writer made THAT totally obvious by having a character named "Ivan" in the movie, and showing Christian Bale's character reading "The Idiot", not to mention a neon "Crime and Punishment" sign is in plain sight in the "horror ride" sequence. I don't want to say much more because I"m afraid I'll give away some vital things about this movie, but REALLY..if it's playing near you and you haven't seen it yet and you enjoy dark, moody films...go see "The Machinist"..If you already have seen the movie, I'd like your take on it!! To walk out of that movie into bright sunshine when it was over was really odd.