2005-03-16 : A Music Critique turns into Proof that I'm a Moron and ends in a dream about red shag carpeting!
I'm not sure how I feel about the newest "...And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead" album/cd/tape/8-track (ok, I doubt it came out on 8-track..ha ha!) I really like only a few of the songs ("Will you Smile Again"), while other songs ("World's Apart") make me cringe because the lyrics are just fucking irritating. Cliched criticism of consumerism and pop culture in music really bores me. I thought these guys were more creative than that! Oh well. It's still better than 80% of the other shit being put out right about now.
Despite any of this, I'd LOVE to see them live, though. I could KICK myself for not going to see them several months ago when they actually came to EUGENE. It was a Sunday night and Larry wouldn't go with me and I didn't want to go alone.

I really need to get a hold of the soundtrack to "Velvet Goldmine." For some reason I lost my old copy and I recently started thinking about that movie again (probably because I saw Christian Bale in "The Machinist")

I'm reading "Year of Wonders" (Geraldine Brooks) which is a fictional (historical fiction) story of a village in the UK in 1666 whose citizens become infected with THE PLAGUE. It's fairly good, but not not as good as I'd hoped it would be.

I've actually watched "American Idol" for the past two weeks in a row. I wonder if some rare brain disorder has stricken me with the inability to make intelligent television choices. What the hell is wrong with me? Larry cringes and winces and complains but even HE ends up paying attention to the contestants (even though he continually denies it)...I think Constantine (SEE, I'm using their fucking first NAMES in here...how pathetic) is pretty sexy, even if he doesn't have the best voice (that would be Nadia, I think)..I actually went to the web-site of Constantine's RAWK band, Pray for the Soul of Betty (not something I'm proud of, but I'll admit it in here to all my friends) to see what his RAWK band sounds like. They were better than I expected, but not exactly something that I really dig.

OK, I'm now totally embarrassed that I even wrote that last paragraph. Lord Help Me!!

DREAM:
***************************************
I was moving into this house and was going to have several other roomies (I think all of them were guys) and I chose my bedroom. The house was spacious and I was talking to this one prospective roomie about why he was choosing one room over another. He liked the room that didn't have as much sunlight shining in (which I thought was weird) but when I went in the room that he didn't want, I realized that the room had sort of a "bad vibe" and I understood his decision. I also remember that the carpeting was bright red shag and that I was concerned about might lie in its yarny strands as I strolled across it with bare feet.
**************************************