2005-04-01 : Sweet Basil, Sour Flannery, Savory Soap Scents
I'm hungry and my neck and head ache. I only had 3 drinks last night but they contained different sorts of alcohol and I think it actually made me hungover to some degree today. We ate delicious Thai food (I always get panang curry) at Sweet Basil (my new favorite restaurant in Eugene) and then went to the Indigo District to have a drink afterwards. Before we ate ate, we had one drink next door, at the Downtown Lounge where a stranger tried to have a thesis-like discussion on "The Big Lebowski" with me and where the bartender performed some amazing card tricks for us. Not what I expected when I walked into to have Bailey's on the rocks.

I have started reading "The News from Paraguay" (Lily Tuck) but I couldn't concentrate on it last night..I was feeling sort of ill from the cocktails and too much curry, so I started re-reading some Flannery O'Connor (God, she is so...I can't think of the proper word!) I don't know that I've ever actually read all of "Wise blood" so that's what I'm aiming for. I have this 3-in-1 set that contains "Wise blood, A Good Man Is Hard To Find, and The Violent Bear It Away."
I'd like to read more about the her life but as far as I know there isn't really a biography out on her yet, only a book of letters she wrote. Anyways, I love her stuff, always have.

I feel like seeing a movie today. I sort of want to see "The Upside of Anger" even though I don't like Kevin Costner. I hear he's pretty good in it, though, and I like Joan Allen. I could go see "Million Dollar Baby', but something keeps me from seeing that movie..I'm not sure why. Maybe I'll just rent it eventually, or maybe I'll never see it. Something about it kills my interest, even though I like all the stars and Clint Eastwood, etc. Maybe it's the boxing theme. I despise boxing. It makes me cringe.

For now, though, I'm going to go and eat a peanut butter and jelly sandwich for breakfast and have a petite glass of milk.

Oh Yea! The Saturday Market re-opens (outdoors, anyway) this weekend. If the weather isn't too rainy, I'd like to go there and buy some of my favorite local soap.