2005-04-20 : An Unexpected Houseguest or the most disturbing Kind!
I'm listening to The Makers "Hunger" (back when they were still GOOD and not horrid and posturing fuck-heads) to drown out the sound of loud boom-boom dance music from downstairs. The source of that music is from our newest houseguest, who is interesting, polite and disturbing in some ways.

Let me tell the story of how this 26-year-old from Namibia (it's part of South Africa and nope, I'd never heard of it either, but I'm stupid!) came to be staying in our guestroom. Let's go back to Monday morning, shall we??

I hear a knock on the front door. I know that Norman is still asleep (though it's 11 am) because he stays out all night drinking and he probably doesn't even hearing the knocking because he's zonked. So, I (with some irritation because I'm too lazy to go downstairs) go downstairs and answer the front door. A guy I've never seen before is standing there and at first he seems a little confused and I'm wondering when he'll say something and I'm too goofy to say "Hi! What can I do for you?" I just stare at him (he's sort of handsome, I'm thinking to myself)..anyways, in an accent that I can't quite identify (I think German but with some other twist to it) "Good Morning. Is Norman here?" I tell him that Norman is still asleep and he seems shocked, looks at his watch and says "Oh, but it's quite late in the morning" and I explain that Norman tends to get up fairly late because he stays up late. I won't let him in the house this entire time, because I don't fucking know him. I then ask him if he wants to come back later or have me wake Norm's ass up and he says he'd like me to wake Norman up. So, I close the door in his face (it sounds sort of rude, but it wasn't like I slammed it or anything..hee hee!) and then I realize I need to know who he is, so I open the door and instead of being polite and saying "What's your name?" I say "Who are you?" (VERY Polite,tater...GOD..sometimes I just have no social skills!) and he says "My name is Wolf." So I wake up Norman and I tell him that someone is at the door to see him and to make a long story short, Norm met Wolf (Wolfgang) at "the shitty bar" on Sunday night.

Wolf is travelling down from Vancouver, BC (where he was visiting his uncle) to California (where he wants to inquire into some motor cross endeavors) and he stopped in Springfield (and happened to stop at the shitty bar..it's FATE, I tell ya) because he was told in some gas station about 45 miles north of here that Springfield was the place to go for drugs (he was looking for pot!!)

Anyways, he's travelling in this van and once Larry and I met him (and we thought he was a cool guy) we decided to let him stay in our guestroom until he leaves for California (sometime in the next few days)...Monday afternoon we went to a couple of bars in Eugene and got to know him better and we've been bbq'ing and he's been telling us about Namibia and this and that, and he's very polite and all, but these are some things that have come out of this mouth (I'm paraphrasing) "All the black people in my country...they are so fucking dumb." Guess he was mad when Apartheid ended, huh? Well, that was getting on my nerves, but the clincher was last night.

I was sitting on the deck talking to him about a tragedy in his life and somehow we get on the subject of "The Jews" and I just had this sinking feeling and he says "Those ovens..man, they weren't used.." and "Hitler was a good man, until the VERY VERY ENd..and then he wasn't so great" and I thought to myself "GREAT!" Our guest is some sort of white-supremacist..lovely. He told me that there are very many books that tell the TRUTH about the Holocaust (that it didn't exist, was exaggerated, was the Jews fault..all of that bullshit) and I just started feeling sick to my stomach. I listened to him and said "You know..I TOTALLY disagree with you, but you are entitled to your opinion..." and I haven't really wanted to hang with the guy since.

On one hand, I like him, but on the other hand, bigots make me sick, so I'm stuck behind a rock and a hard place. So, I'm intolerant of Intolerance. Does that make me as bad as "them" (the bigoted)??

I went upstairs for a little while to tell Larry (yep, I'm a gossipy bitch) that not only was our new friend pro-Apartheid and a racist (which Larry had suspected initially from other things Wolf told him) but that he was one of those "Holocaust conspiracists", too...then I went downstairs and politely said to Wolf "You know..I need to tell you something...What you said about the Jews and Holocaust REALLY offended me. You have the right to your own opinion, but I don't want to talk about that subject ever again while you are here. OK?" He apologized several times and then it just felt all sort of uncomfortable and I haven't really said much to him since. I'm actually wanting him out to leave now, whereas when I intially met him (and didn't realize how prejudice he is) I was excited to have him stick around for awhile. Oh well. Sue me for being sensitive.