2005-10-19 : Learning a Foreign Language
I took some valerian last night to help me sleep a little deeper (I've been waking up several times a night recently) and it helped but this morning I feel pretty damn groggy. I'm sitting in front of my light therapy lamp (which is like having a searchlight shined on your face, only more..pleasant) so that is helping to wake me up.

I can't believe October is nearly gone. Less than 2 weeks. I haven't even put up my Halloween decorations yet.

This is my 6th day of training at Symantec. It's getting SLIGHTLY less confusing and frustrating, but I still feel like I'm learning a foreign language. I think it'll take me a couple of months of practice before I get all the information to process in my head. I never knew that Order Entry for a software company could be so extremely complicated. Fucking Veritas.

My sister left early this morning to go to the Portland airport. I am extremely glad she's gone. I've never been a big fan of my sister. She's even more self-absorbed than I remember her being (I hadn't seen her for several years) and she's so lazy (granted, she is 5 months pregnant, but she's selfish and lazy even when she isn't pregnant)...I don't feel like having a bitch fest about her. I'm just glad she's gone. My mom has to take Adahy and Wahliya (my nephew and niece) to the Portland airport this afternoon. They are flying down to LA to spend some time with their father. My sister is flying directly back to Hawaii. They are all pretty much homeless right now. My sister is getting HUD housing, though, so when she gets back she'll be concentrating on finding them a place to live (which should be easier without having the kids with her)...I feel sorry for Adahy and Wahliya. My sister always says "Oh, they are really adaptable" (referring to the fact that they've been extremely poor all their lives and that they seem to move like 8 times a year for one reason or another) but I think it's slowly damaging them. Nonetheless, they are GREAT kids. The most well-behaved kids I've ever known. I will miss having them around.

Larry has a bad cold (I think he got it from my mom)...poor guy. I hope he comes home early from work to get some rest.

I'm doing fine..I'm just trying not to be too stressed about how little information I feel like I retain in this training program.