2006-11-12 : Books and Movies and Plane Tickets!
It's been a pretty peaceful weekend so far. Yesterday Larry and I both went to Calypso (what a cool name for a salon) and got our hairs cut. The stylist suggested that I purchase a large round boar bristle brush so that I can wear my hair in this perfect little bob and have it look like it did when she was through cutting it. She also suggested getting some shine spray to make it look extra super special, so I did. We'll see if I can make my hair look as good as a stylist can. God, why the fuck am I talking about my hair?

My sister used to talk about her hair all the damn time. This was back in high school when she wanted to be a model (she WAS very pretty) and she had the typical big 80's hair...very curly and um, BIG. We'd go someplace in the car and she'd be talking about her hair and after awhile it would get on my nerves because she seemed so self-absorbed. I'd give anything now to have her be self-absorbed and talking about her hair...even if it did irritate me. It just shows how much you take somebody for granted. Once they are gone...that is it.

Ok, enough about HAIR! I could start talking about the musical, but...I won't.

After getting my hairs cut I went to the mall (I hate the mall but it's saving grace is having 2 movie theaters inside) and saw (for $1.50, does that not rock?) "The Last Kiss"..it was cute in the way "Garden State" was but not nearly as thought-provoking. I guess I'm comparing the two because Zach Braff is the main star in both flicks. I have managed to see two different Christian Bale movies in the past 10 days. I saw "The Prestige" which I loved and also "Harsh Times" which was good but I admit I got tired of the violence after awhile. What a grim and depressing movie. Reviews said it was hilarious in parts and there were some parts where I snickered but I didn't find most of it funny whatsoever..it was just brutal. I was the only woman in the audience which was strange. I wouldn't necessarily say it was a man's movie, but then again, it sort of is.

After the movie I went to B. Dalton (those mall bookstores just suck compared to local bookstores or even Borders...I'm not a Barnes and Noble fan but Borders is awesome!) and I bought Rick Steves' "Europe Through The Back Door" or whatever the hell it is called. I wanted to have two travel books to read and research my European trip from. Rick Steves is pretty dorky but he knows his shit. I also bought a very guilty pleasure (which wasn't quite worth the $35.00)...Courtney Love's "Dirty Blonde" (which is diary entries, song lyrics, rare photos and a bunch of other shit)...Since I used to be a huge fan of Hole (and of Courtney until she started wearing fucking haute couture (sp?)) it was an interesting read for me. Now that I'm done with it I might just have to sell it. It isn't a book I feel that I need sitting on my bookshelves at home.

Speaking of European vacations..mine starts February 27th! I got my plane ticket and that is when I will be flying from San Francisco to Heathrow and then from Heathrow onto Amsterdam where Tracita and Hans will be happily awaiting my arrival. I am so excited that I could just vomit, actually!