2008-02-15 : I WILL overcome my driving phobia!
"Wisconsin Death Trip" was really well done! I thought the cinematography was beautiful and the movie gave me the same creepy "This is so disturbing but I'm so fascinated that I have to watch all of it" that I had when I read the book.

I'm waiting for "Look Back in Anger" to come next from NetFlix. I love English "angry young man" movies from the 50's and 60's. This is supposed to be one of the best. I haven't seen Richard Burton in much besides "Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf" (sp? I always THINK I spell her last name wrong!)
so I am curious. "Loneliness of a Long Distance Runner" and "Billy Liar" are some of my faves in that "genre"....

So. I woke up this morning and decided I am GOING to get over my driving phobia. I have a really severe one and haven't driven since 1994. No, I didn't get in a car accident, but I did start having massive panic attacks when driving (back in Illinois) and that was scary. The thought of losing consciousness or control over the car while driving is terrifying. Not only because of injuring myself, but also: OTHERS! I'm tired of this fear and though I get around just fine, not driving has been somewhat limiting to me. The first step is to get a little beater car that is an automatic (Larry's is manual and I can't drive that big hunk of SUV thingie anyway...too scary to start off with) for less than $1,000. Then I will get a "learner's permit" (even though I DO know how to drive and had a license at one point) so I can practice without it being illegal. I will also order some self-help stuff on overcoming driving phobias. There is a lot of good stuff on CD and in books for these sorts of things. Then I will just DO IT. I will practice (with Larry in the car for awhile, obviously) driving around the block and then to the store...or whatever I can do. It make take a little while but I think I can conquer this thing! NO MORE FEAR! Also, when we DO have a child, It'd be good to have a car and be able to drive around. I have no problem taking the bus, and I will probably still do that frequently (I also think it's better for the environment to take public transportation) but knowing that I COULD drive somewhere would be great. I will cry with relief and with pride when I accomplish this goal!

Ok. I'm going to go outside. It is gorgeous and who knows how long this will last? I think I'll go to my new favorite coffee shop/cafe and do some reading. I'd like to do more knitting my right hand is still really sore from doing too much knitting last weekend!

Knitting...overcoming driving phobias..Jesus! I sound like an old woman!