2008-06-29 : A phone call from The Other Side
I had this very strange (and seemingly very profound) dream about my mother the other night. I dreamed that my phone rang and that I was shocked to see that the phone # the call was from was my mother's old cell phone #. I answered it and was shocked, and amazed, but mostly DELIGHTED that my mother was actually on the other end. In the dream it wasn't like she was alive again and calling me. We both knew she was "on the other side" and I remember asking her how it was possible to be able to call me from "the other side". She sort of laughed and said that it was sort of tricky but not completely impossible. She sounded happy and we just really enjoyed talking briefly. Just to hear her voice again in my dream was so beautiful. I woke up and was amazed at what a strange (but comforting) dream it had been. Now, I wish my SISTER would give me a call. She didn't have a phone a lot of times, though, so maybe she could write me a dream letter:)
*** OK, I just realized that I had already WRITTEN about this dream. Jesus..where is my mind? (ha ha..I just quoted the Pixies)... ******************* I feel like eating the rest of our wedding cake samples. The cake (design) we picked out is really simple and elegant. I love it. It was almost 100 degrees out yesterday. TOO HOT. We went to a friend's bbq and then later on we went to a daiquiri party/fish fry. I didn't drink any daiquiris but I did eat some fish. Yum. Then L. and I took a romantic little walk around the property (these friends, more his than mine, I barely know them) own a flower farm and it was beautiful out there. A band was playing and there were bonfires and suddenly lightning and thunder was everywhere and it started to sprinkle. It was also so dark in places that I couldn't see my own hand. We were lying on the grass and it was lovely. I'm tired as hell today though (didn't go to sleep until after 2 am)...going to see Reverend Horton Heat/Supersuckers/Nashville Pussy tonight. Should be fun.