2008-07-10 : Calm Breath Tincture, Turmeric and LCC
I don't have a Buddha belly. I seem to have a double Buddha belly and I am so sick of it! Losing a little weight is so fucking hard (and takes forever) and I'm a lazy person, by nature, so that makes it even worse.

My allergies are really bugging me. Between the heat and the wind, I am just wheezy and sneezy (those sound like 2 of the "Lost Seven Dwarfs!"..or wait, was one called "sneezy", alredy?)

A health food store (quite a bit of food, including fresh fruit and veggies, plus tons of cool herbal tinctures and vitamins and natural hair dyes, etc.) just opened up about 3 blocks from my house.

I am really excited that I can walk there to buy some food or what have you. I hate depending on Larry to drive me everywhere and I don't feel like lugging groceries around on the bus.


Yesterday I went there for the first time and spent probably an hour just looking around. I love looking at books about herbs and alternative medicine.
I was comforted to see "Women's Liberty Tea". I remember drinking that with Simone and Tracy. I seriously considered getting some natural hair dye though it was almost $12 (which is about 3-4 dollars more than I typically spend). I'd like to work there part-time. Maybe I should go in and give the owner a resume and ask if he might be hiring more staff anytime soon. I overhead him telling a customer that he plans on setting up and opening an oxygen bar upstairs. I'd be curious to see what that feels like. I saw bottles of witch hazel and that also reminded me of old friends. I ended up buying some capsules "Nerve Blend" (they have valerian and passionflower and thistle and skullcap, etc...very calming) and I bought a tincture called "Calm Breath" which has A LOT of turmeric in it (which is good for respiratory problems, believe it or not) amongst other things good for asthma and bronchitis.

I spilled some of the tincture on my counter and on my fingers and DAMN...I forget how much turmeric stains things! That is why curry always stains everything...because of all the turmeric in it. I've heard of people making herbal facial masks and using turmeric as one of the ingredients. Supposedly it doesn't turn your skin yellow, but I find that hard to believe. I wouldn't want to go around all jaundiced looking!!

This little on my left hand between my pointer and middle fingers is really tingly and weird feeling. I wonder what that's all about!?

I decided today that I am going to see about going to Lane Community College to get certified in medical coding. I always see jobs for this and with my background in medical billing, coding would be a great additional skill to have. I applied on-line and in the next few days will be able to advance register for classes for Fall term.

I'm not sure yet how I'll pay. I doubt they'll give me financial aid because Larry makes too much. It all depends on how much it costs. I might take out a smallish student loan or maybe I can pay out of pocket (but that will be hard without a job!)..we'll see. I need to stop sitting around here doing nothing. If employment doesn't seem to be happening, at least I can go take a class or two in order to get my certification for this.

Ok, gotta eat. Rumbling tummy!