2008-08-06 : Pleased to meet you, can you guess my name?
I took this idea from a fellow diaryland pal's most recent entry. However, I'm NOT tagging anybody (I just don't do that shit) so I encourage you to write an entry about yourself, but if you don't, no biggie!
*****
RULES:

1. Post these rules.

2. Each tagged person must post 8 things about their self on their journal.

3. At the end, you have to choose and tag 8 people

4. No tag-backs.

5. Go to their pages and send a message saying you tagged them.


8 Things:

1. I am incredibly lazy. Sometimes I feel guilty about it but most of the time I don't give a fuck. I don't have much ambition, period, and I am fine with that. I am not the best housekeeper in the world and I don't care.

2. I wouldn't mind at all if I never had to work another day in my life. Working is highly over-rated. Maybe I'd change my mind if I had my "dream job" (teaching creative writing at college level) but I don't have the ambition to get the dream job. I have far too much time on my hands when I am home alone all day, not doing much of anything, and sometimes I end up getting pretty damn depressed with so little to do, but if I never had to worry about making ends meet, I wouldn't bother with a job. That said, I don't mind doing some volunteer work. I've been a volunteer with Planned Parenthood for awhile (though I don't do much for them these days..

3. I like to spend a lot of time alone. I NEED to spend a lot of time alone. I probably spend way too much time alone for it to be considered healthy, but for the most part, I've always been this way. It isn't that I don't like people, because I do, and I love my friends and family and Larry, but it just feels so RIGHT to be alone!

4. One good thing that has come out of learning to deal with intense grief (ie: the death of my sister, followed closely by the death of my mother) is that I am not nearly as afraid of death (or intense change) as I used to be and this is a very good thing. It makes me feel less neurotic and more free and stronger than when I was younger.

5. I am extremely judgmental. This is one of the things I like least about myself. I sum people up (by first impressions, usually) very quickly. It takes me awhile to give somebody a "second chance" if I decide when I first meet them that I don't really like them. When people are poor spellers,I judge them. When people are non-stop talkers (and bad listeners), I judge them. I am TRYING to work on this, though, and realize that nearly everybody has good and bad qualities and that I am no perfect little angel myself.I can also be a big hypocrite.

6. I am insanely in love with my cats. They irritate the shit out of me but I rarely yell at them and can never be mad (even if they pee on the carpet or puke on the bed) because they are dependent on me and love me unconditionally. I talk to them constantly. I have a million goofy nicknames for each one. I swear that they smile at me (yea..I'm insane, obviously!) when I talk to them.

7. The act of purchasing books at a book store or walking down the aisles of a library (fiction books, usually, not non-fiction) gives me such a thrill. I love reading. It is probably my favorite form of escapism (which I am REALLY into..whether it be good music, an absorbing book, or a great movie) and I love reading before I fall asleep at night. If I feel like I may NOT be able to read before going to sleep (like I finished a book and have no others in my "to read" stack, I feel sad and a little anxious, actually. When people talk about preferring to read magazines or when they confess that they don't enjoy reading at all, I am just baffled. It is the same thing with a person that says they don't like animals.

8. I have a rich imagination (this can be good or bad) and I often have wished throughout my life that I lived in a different decade (or even century!) I often think that things were better "back then" (better clothes,better autos, better food, etc.) though I realize that I am lucky to be a woman living TODAY. History is very fascinating to me. I especially like to read about the Victorian era (prostitutes, diseases, etiquette, etc.) and I love antique ANYTHING..even old medicine bottles fascinate me. I collect antique under garments (mostly Victorian petticoats), but I also have a lot of slips from the 1950's. I don't wear any of these things, but I love having them and feeling their material, which is so different from modern clothing.