2008-09-15 : Biker Party
My first prenatal appointment with my midwife is today, which is cool.

I keep looking for jobs and can't find one, which is NOT COOL!
*****************************************
On Saturday afternoon we drove out past Junction City to go to a party in the country. Larry decided to ride his bike (motorcycle, not bicycle) out with 2 other biker friends. Our Hippie friend drove our car (since I don't drive) and told me stories about this year's Burning Man. His stories were interesting but I still have no desire to go to Burning Man. I don't want to deal with HOT, HOT dry heat PLUS dust storms. I also don't like hanging out with thousands of people that are mostly altered on hallucinogenics and/or really fucking drunk (esp. not while I'm pregnant..yep.) With that said, though, I'm sure there was a lot of cool art to look at and cool people watching (and a lot of nudity!)

When we finally found the driveway to the party we all looked at it in disbelief. It was REALLY, REALLY steep and full of really dry, loose gravel. I was really worried about 3 motorcycles even being ABLE to get up that thing, let alone our auto (which is front wheel drive)...Being the idiots that we were (we should have had the bikes all try to go up one at a time AHEAD of us) we drove up in the car first and then the bikers ALL followed a little too closely behind us. Of course, we started sliding and came to a stop because we got stuck. The bikers were shouting "What the FUCK are you DOING? GO..GO..GO!!!" but they didn't realize that we COULDN'T go anywhere! So the first biker started sliding backwards, Larry managed not to slide but was just trying to keep his bike upright and the last biker slid backwards..his bike went down (on top of his leg) and he managed to land in some blackberry bushes (he was just wearing a t-shirt because it was hot outside)..OUCH! So, hippie friend and I are looking back at them and injured biker is yelling that he needs help because he can't lift the bike off of himself. Larry is able to somehow park his bike and go lift the bike off of our friend. Injured biker has a sprained ankle, but it isn't broken. All 3 bikers manage to back their bikes down the hill and park them across the road (where they are well hidden in some trees) and then Larry takes over our car and has trouble getting all the way up the driveway but on the 2nd try he makes it. He goes back down the hill and gets everybody else and manages to make it back up again.

It is beautiful up at our friend's house (ok, he is more of an acquaintance, but a nice guy no matter what) and it is nice to be in the wilderness. He is cooking ribs and beef brisket on the grill. I have made a large salad and a big batch of coleslaw.

5 minutes after we get there I reach back into my shirt because something feels funny. I feel a searing prick and manage to somehow get the BEE out of my shirt. Thank God I am not allergic to bee stings (as in...Holy SHIT..I can't breathe!) but I ask this guy I barely know to remove the rest of the stinger...and DAMN this sting hurts like a motherfucker. I haven't been stung for 10 years, probably and I forget how shitty it feels. Someone gets ice for injured biker's ankle and he sits down. Someone else gets me some ice to put on my sting but I realize that the best thing for it would be to make a paste out of baking soda. This is done and another friend applies that to the sting on my back/neck. The baking soda helps TONS but even now the stupid sting is still pretty swollen. I wondered if the sting could hurt the baby in my belly and then realize that I'm just being paranoid.

I decide to have a very small glass of red wine. I feel guilty about this at first but everyone tells me that it is good to drink a little red wine here and there while pregnant. I've also read this AND I'm almost in my 2nd trimester so I don't think this one drink is going to make my baby be born with fetal alcohol syndrome. I haven't had a thing to drink for months and the wine tastes good and goes to my head a little. I am not stupid enough to have any more to drink than this. I stick with my vitamin water. More people show up...we eat...it gets dark and most of us sit around the campfire. People are setting up tents. Larry and I are special (well, ok..I AM SPECIAL) and get to sleep in the guest bed since the pregnant lady needs to be comfy, of course. There is a game of poker (playing with change only, as nobody at this party has any money) going on in the living room. I chat here and there but mostly just stare at the fire. I am tired and sober and though I'm not bored, I'm don't have much to talk about. I go to bed first and am surprised that I am able to fall asleep at all because the stereo in the living room is SO LOUD. I lie in the dark, in a strange bed and listen to Janis Joplin belting it out and find myself drifting off to Tom Waits. Larry comes in a little after midnight and he smells like beer (yuck) and someone finally turns off the music and I'm about to fall asleep again when someone else turns the loud music back on..DAMN IT! I manage to fall asleep anyway and wake up to pee at 5:30 am...I sleep lightly off and on until about 8:30 and then get up. We leave around noon. Going down the driveway was much easier than going up it (and the bikes are all fine..nobody messed with them in the night)..
**********************
J's "Virgo Party" is next weekend. I think we'll be having a yard sale the weekend after that. I've never had a yard sale before!
*******************************
I need to go check on the kitchen floor. I mopped it right before I wrote this entry.