2008-10-13 : Pink Ring and Vanilla Ice Cream
I love sparkly things. I'm wearing this ridiculously gaudy and sparkly (and AWESOME) pink star burst flower rhinestone ring that is probably from the 1960s. I got it for $5 at this antique store several months ago. The guy had several other rings like this but in different colors. I should have bought them all.

My uterus has been feeling like it is STRETCHING all day. I can't really describe the feeling. It is mostly centered on my left side..it just feels HEAVY and almost like a pulling sensation. It doesn't feel crampy, though. It must be growing pains or "round ligament pains" or something like that. I STILL can't believe I'm already 4 months pregnant. I'm wearing a pink sweater and I stretched it around my stomach and said to Larry "Look, a pink pumpkin!" Ok, a small pumpkin, but a pumpkin nonetheless. It is also kinda cool to press on my stomach from top to bottom and note how HARD the whole thing is starting to feel. Now it's like I'm not full of flabby fat (though I actually am) but it's something else when so hard. We find out the sex in 2 weeks and we are really excited. I'll be surprised if it turns out to be a boy. I keep looking a girl baby clothes in Ross and fingering little corduroy dresses and flowered tops. Isabella..Isabella...ARE you an Isabella? I don't know what boys name we would use. I decided I just can't go with Dorian no matter how much I like Oscar Wilde. Larry is so fucking picky about boy names, but then I'll name something that I like (that he has "nayed" a million times) and he'll say "that's pretty good" and it confuses me. I think he doesn't listen as closely as I think. We'll figure it out.

Last night we watched a documentary on the Dust Bowl days of the "dirty thirties" and the horrible Black Blizzards that roared through towns. Scary shit. Also incredibly fascinating. I had read "The Worst Hard Time" (which is on the Dust Bowl Days and the Great Depression) a little ways back and it went right along with the documentary (in fact the author was a major part of the documentary)..Tim Egan. Yea, that's his name.

We are going to see "The Rocky Horror Picture" show on Halloween night with some friends. It is being performed at the "Actor's Cabaret" here in town and it is also a dinner theater (something I've never been to) and I think it's going to be fantastic. The next day we'll drive up to Portland (Nov. 1 also happens to be Larry's 40th birthday) because him and his friend J. are going to go see Metallica. Now, I would have liked to have seen Metallica in the early to mid 1980's, but have no interest in their new stuff. Larry is so NOT Metallica that is makes me laugh that he agreed to go. I think he'll have fun anyway! I'll be hanging out with J's wife, E, and their 2-month-old son which should be a lot of fun. I can't wait to meet the baby! We are driving up to Portland AGAIN on Nov. 13th (Larry is taking the next day off) to see The Dirt Bombs. I adore them and have waited years to see them. I already bought the tickets. Hopefully we can stay with J as he just moved to Portland. If not we can always get a cheap hotel. It will be strange going to a show while pregnant. I'll be standing at the BACK away from too many people. I wonder what baby will think of The Dirt Bombs?

Larry just left for the airport. He is going on a business trip to Cupertino, CA and won't be back until late Thursday evening. I feel sad that he will be gone but at the same time, it'll be ok. I like spending time alone (though this is a little too much)...He is staying at this really swank boutique hotel (I saw pics..WOW!) I really wanted to go but we can't afford the plane ticket..too bad his company doesn't pay for spouses to go on these trips!

I got vanilla ice cream (this is my first ice cream purchase since being pregnant..weird..I thought I would crave ice cream but I really haven't..but now that I have some I'd like to drink a couple of milkshakes. I also will make apple crisp. Warm apple crisp with melting vanilla ice cream on top is sinfully good!

I'm still laughing at the clip of a woman talking to McCain and talking about how she can't trust Obama because he is an "arab"...Jesus Christ! Sometimes I can't believe how fucking stupid people are! I thought it was cool that McCain disagreed with her. I'm still not voting for him, though!