2008-11-28 : Fantastic Thanksgiving..yummy food!
We had a really nice Thanksgiving. We didn't need to be at our friends house until around 5 pm, so I had plenty of time to laze around and slowly make two pies, etc. My pumpkin pie turned ok (crust wasn't quite perfect) but the apple pie I made was AMAZING!

We had really interesting and non-traditional food for our dinner (which we ate around 6:30 or 7:00 pm)...For appetizers there were veggies with dips and little pastries (won ton wrappers, actually, stuffed with cheeses and smoked salmon and oysters)..I don't like smoked salmon or oysters but I loved these little pastries. Two things I never considered combining are: dates (or were they figs?) and bacon, but they were combined into an amazingly delicious litle treat...a tender fig wrapped with a piece of bacon and then pan fried in olive oil, I think..SO YUMMY! I wanted to eat ALL of them but I wasn't the only person at dinner! The main course were quail (enough was made for everybody to have at least 3) wrapped in prosciutto, sauteed greens with tomato (spinach, I think), rolls, scalloped potatoes, and this delicious stuffing that had Brussels sprouts in it. Then we had my pie. By the time we left I was stuffed to the point of feeling sick and uncomfortable (I still haven't learned how to SLOW down in my eating and how to eat smaller portions when I feel like I am starving)...so then you got a full tummy of food (and of baby) and I just look HUGE by the end of the night, and I moan and complain and Larry says "poor preggo" which makes me laugh. I have to take Tums nearly every night no matter WHAT I eat..stupid heart burn. But is it worth it? Hell yes..I love my baby belly and baby Isabella!
I'm gonna go read now. I'm temporarily burnt out on watching movies and tv.