2009-01-29 : Baby Shower and 25 Random Things About Me..
Wow. I've been neglecting writing in on-line diaries recently. I know it will only get worse once Isabella is born.

I had my baby shower this past weekend and had a great time. My friend, A, hosted it at her house (she has a great house) and about 17 girlfriends showed up. I'm not really into the traditional baby shower games (I think they are used as a time waster because people are afraid to talk to other people that they don't know, well, and I think the games are fucking stupid..) so the only "activity" we did (besides eating food and opening presents and socializing) was a candle ritual. Small candles were handed out and each person said a prayer/blessing or wish (either out loud or to themselves) as they lit their candle. Each candle was then placed into a blow of dirt. At the end I lit my own candle, thought my own wish and then blew out all of the candles. I ALMOST did it in one breath, but not quite. My friends were So generous. I have very few things left to get for the baby, which is fantastic. About all I need to get is a breast pump (I'm waiting until right after the baby is born to do that..I want to make sure I can even produce milk. I'm sure I can, but you never know!), more cloth diapers and cloth diaper covers and some odds and ends: bottles, etc.

I think Isabella must have a big butt (ha ha)...sometimes I can feel it sort of sticking out (seems like it is lodged in my upper right abdomen right now)...this hard round thing (I know it isn't her head..she is head down according to the midwife)...

My friend had her baby (Penelope Rose) a few days ago. She was 6-7 weeks early but still managed to weigh over 5 pounds at birth and mom and baby are doing fantastic. Hopefully Penelope won't have to be in the hospital for too long.

***************I did this on Facebook and thought I'd add it here:******

25 Random Things About Me


1. I haven't driven a car since 1994. I have a driving phobia.
2. I do not like coffee and try to avoid anything with caffeine for the most part.
3. I feel like something is missing in my life if I do not have a book to read before falling asleep.
4. I wish I owned a piano, so I could get back in the habit of playing. I think I've forgotten how to even read music at this point!
5. I've written a short novella. I have yet to try to publish it, though. Oh, and I wrote it in 3 weeks.
6. I once volunteered for a domestic violence hot-line.
7. I like to put on music in my room (when nobody is home) and dance..I pretend I am a go-go dancer and it is 1966.
8. I am NOT afraid of spiders and will try to put one outside rather than kill it.
9. I could eat a slice of rhubarb pie (if it is made well) every single day.
10. I wouldn't mind moving to Ireland one day.
11. I love traveling and feel fortunate that I was able to spend 4 1/2 months in different parts of Europe/U.K. in 2007.
12. I prefer red tulips over red roses.
13. My favorite scents include: freshly mowed grass, freshly cut lemons, freshly cut cucumbers, baking bread and several different types of incense (sandalwood, nag champa, frankincense..)
14. I do not like cologne on men or perfume on women..though I do like perfumed oils.
15. Though I enjoy seeing my friends, I feel the most comfortable spending time alone. I need TONS of me time.
16. I am claustrophobic, which is a shame because I think scuba diving would be cool.
17. I am planning on using self-hypnosis (Hypnobabies) to help me relax and get me through labor.
18. I have come close to leaving my body (while meditating) but always freak out and pull myself back.
19. I believe in ghosts/spirits and have seen more than one in my life.
20. I colored my hair black for several months back when I was 18, it looked horrible on me!
21. I talk absolute gibberish to my cats. I am glad nobody can hear me!
22. I love remembering my dreams and try to write them down as much as possible.
23. I have no idea what I want to do with my life (besides being a wife and mom)
24. I am not very ambitious or goal-oriented but am comfortable being that way.
25. I collect vintage slips/nightgowns, etc. I like the Victorian era the best and have several petticoats.