2012-06-26 : Firecracker and going to "Ass-Store"
I have an urge to make cookies for the 3rd time this week, but alas, I am out of brown sugar and I don't want to use all of the butter, and well, god damn, I need to lose 20 pounds and cookies are not helping (I need to lose 20 pounds but I really don't care that I need to lose 20 pounds. I certainly don't make much of an effort to exercise or "diet". I guess I am happy being 20 pounds over weight, so fuck it)

So, yea, I made ginger cookies on Friday and then I made oatmeal cookies on Sunday. Cookies don't last in this house. Nothing sweet does because of my sweet tooth. L always claims not to really like desserts and sweet stuff all that much, but it is AMAZING to watch him eat so many cookies that he clearly doesn't "like", ha.

I finally finished my book club read. It is "The Quiet Girl" by Peter Hoeg (the "o" in his last name should have that strange Scandi "o" with a line through it but I don't know how to do that on this keyboard)..I picked the book (after boycotting "50 Shades of Grey" at the last book club. I feel like I was sort of rude but I am NOT reading that fucking shit, and I let it be known). If people want good erotica they should be reading Henry Miller or Anais Nin!! So, yea..I really regret picking "The Quiet Girl". There was some beautiful writing in it but I could not get the gist of what the fuck was going on in it, and I just found myself bored and my mind wandering every time I read the book. I made my way through it as it seems totally wrong to NOT finish the book that I picked for the next bookclub. I have no idea how I will discuss it (not that we have long discussions about the books we read..it really is (as most book clubs are) an excuse to drink wine and eat various yummy things.)The plan is to have all Scandinavian sorts of foods and appetizers for the next book (the author is Danish). I think I will make little meat pies or something.

What else can I ramble about? Oh yea, Bella handed me "Diamond" (one of her "my little pony" ponies) and asked me to "be her"...I don't know why I always have to be "Diamond". I mean, shit..I want to be "Twilight Sparkle" or even "Apple Jack"...ha ha. Anyways, she has also been playing with this small wooden Nutcracker man that wasn't put away with the other Christmas stuff. Today she came up to me as I was being "Diamond" and she had Nutcracker man in her head and she introduced him like this: "Hello! I am Firecracker" which made me roll on the bed with laughter. I felt bad for laughing at her (but her mistake was so cute and typically 3-year-old) and I said "Honey, his name is Nutcracker not Firecracker" and she smiled knowingly.

She knows we are going on a trip next week and that it will involve the beach and possibly getting to fly her kite and she is so excited. Every day she thinks we should be getting in the car and going to Astoria (or "Ass-store" as she calls it)...She also keeps insisting that we buy her any remaining "My Little Pony" stuff she doesn't have and she whines about it over and over until I want to blow all of those ponies up (I remain calm but slightly irritated to her, though..the pyromania only happens in my head)..Have I even put in paragraph breaks yet while writing this? God, I ramble!

This weekend sort of sucked. Larry was sick with some sinus infection/cold thing. He was literally lying in bed asleep most of 3 days, and when he wasn't asleep he was being that melodramatic, cranky sick person that most men seem to be. I tried to take care of him but I always think back to how unmaternal he is towards me when I am sick (he sort of begrudingly will ask if I need anything and doesn't seem to actually care that I don't feel well)..so I wasn't overly sweet and maternal this time around. It sucks just spending your weekend in a darkened house (light hurt is eyes), cooking, cleaning, taking care of pony obsessed 3-year-old while it rained outside. At least we watched a gazillion episodes of "Boardwalk Empire" which I really like (though it felt over-hyped for the first few episodes. I am into it now, though, and I love that whole decade of the 1920's, so hearing the jazz and looking at the costumes is making me smile)..At least I haven't managed to catch we had. It seems like Bella is sick every month these days and he nearly is, too, but yet I am maybe twice a year. I guess I should count myself lucky that I have a good immune system. I need to build theirs up. Actually, L can figure out how to make himself healthy on his own. He is a 43-year-old man! Bella eats fairly healthy and I try to give her a vitamin every day. I read that kids her age get 8-10 colds per year, though, so that means being sick nearly every single month. I think I will start putting vitamin D drops in her juice. I have read that increasing Vitamin D helps boost the immune system. We shall see.

Cactus Man (our crazy next door neighbor who is a total jackhole) has been blasting Opera lately. It has surpised me because he is sort of toothless and Lynrd Skynrd seems more like what he would listen to, but whatever. Anyways, he lives with his mom (early 70's, maybe?) who is strange and cranky, too, but a little nicer than him. They are always bitching to L about the other. Poor L. He always gets trapped into awkward conversations with them. I just rush Bella in the house most of the time because I have no problems giving somebody the cold shoulder. Anyways, get to the fucking point, Stacey: Cacti Man's mom came over yesterday and asked L if he would remove two splinters from her finger as her son refused to help her out. What a prick, and how awkward for L! He is a nice guy, though, and helped her out.

Well, Bella is stating that she needs a bubble bath and that she is dirty, so I will end this now!