2014-01-30 : Nostalgia for music of my Teens
When I was in my 30's a lot of the music I enjoyed as a youth just got on my nerves, but I find that in my 40's I am revisiting and enjoying stuff I thought I'd never like again. I've been listening to a lot of punk rock and some hardcore and it really energizes (instead of annoys me) now. For example, early Black Flag ("Nervous Breakdown" EP) is SOOO fucking good. I remember wanting to see them when they played Mabels in the mid 80's but I was too young to get in. I remember waiting for DOA to show up to play a house party, but that didn't happen either (something about problems at the Canadian border). So, I am super psyched that both DOA and MDC are playing a show in my little town in a few months. I will be one of the older ones in the crowd, but surely not the oldest.

I remember being a teen and seeing older people at punk rock shows and kind of smiling. It made me happy though they were "old", I appreciated that they were cool somehow. Now I AM that person and I wonder if teens look at me in the same way.