2002-06-06 : Pizza goes so well with poetry
Ah, the after taste of pizza. There is nothing else like it in this world! Living in Seattle, I really miss the Chicago-style pizza of home. Papadells stuffed pizza..even Garcia's GutBuster..yummy! New York style pizza just ain't nuthin'!! I'm excited cuz Jay's band, The Hi-Beams, are playing a show at Graceland this Saturday. This will be Jay's first show ever with them..yippee!! I'm gonna be the band photographer. Last night I dreamed of being in Champaign. It was twilight and I was in the passengers side of a car being driven by ?? I also don't know who was sitting in between me and the driver but these were familiar people, but who they are slips my mind. Anyways..all of a sudden we drive by St. Matthews and we are at a stoplight just up the street getting ready to turn on to Kirby and this guy who looks like a Jehovah's witness dude walks to the front of the car and pulls a HUGE revolver out and aims it over and over at all of us, and he isn't shooting, but we are all ducking repeatedly and then the light turns GREEN and we're all like "RUN HIM OVER!" but he runs across the street into this womans house who happens to have had her door open at the wrong time and then as we turn the corner we see a swarm of cops chasing him into the house. very strange and potentially terrifying dream. I glad he didn't start shooting!! I love the song "Walking with Thee" by Clinic. I heard it this morning and I cannot get it out of my head. Its so darn catchy. Here are two poems I wrote yesterday. One for my brother. The other is the shortest poem I have ever written, I think: Baby New Year -------------- You are tall as a totem, your teeth flashing behind a chipmunk cheek grin, baby brother. You were born on the last day, coldest day, shortest day and who could hear your first cry beneath the din of party horns and Auld Lang Syne? "Give it to Mikey, he'll try anything" lighting your farts on fire, skateboarding with the gerbil twins and stomping on bicycles like a maniacal monkey boy. I will buy you beer on your birthday! ----------- What I Was ---------- Red hair whipping in winter wind is what I was. A rusty cup is what I've become. An indian summer sunday is where I want to be. ------ well, I gotta get back to work!