2002-06-18 : The Early Bird Gets the Worm
I am on the verge of getting sick (sore throat, congested feeling chest, malaise (what a great word, malaise)) and I've been feeling this way for a week but the sickness won't actually KICK IN full blast which is so irritating. I wish I'd just get really sick and get over it or all these symptoms would just vanish. I am so happy that I get to leave work at noon today. I'm going over to the Univ. of Wa. to attend an informational meeting at 1:30 to learn more about the Masters of Education/teaching certification program that they offer that I'm interested in. I got up today at 5:00am without the aid of an alarm clock and the sky was already light and kind of cotton candy colored and the ducks were quacking and the birds were beeping and chirping. It was a nice way to wake up. I woke up and filled up a tub of water and plugged in the waffle iron...jay and I ate waffles (and it was kinda nice to get up at the same time as him for a change). The bus was quiet and deserted as were the streets of downtown Seattle at 7:00am (I usually get to work closer to 9:00) and the bosses aren't even here yet, thus I am not doing any work (tisk, tisk). The downside of today so far is that I noticed that my favorite pants have rips on both sides by my hips. REALLY large rips..not noticeable unless I'm sitting down, and I can't sew, so..maybe safety pins (how punk rock!) I walked home from the library in the rain last night, which I didn't mind because I had my nifty American flag-inspired umbrella (sent to me by the nice people at the Humane Society of the United states for donating to their cause). Walking in sandals in the rain, slipping and sliding is pretty fun and slightly dangerous. The library..wow. I get so much music from there..saves me $$. I had reserved The White Stripes' lastest plus a collection of B-sides by The Fall. So now I need to tape away. Good bus music!! Well, I think I'll do some medical billing now. Bye Bye!