2002-06-26 : Green Manilishi turns into Monroe St. House ramblings/musings of The GOOD OLD DAYS
THe things that come out from work conversations. I just went on a net quest to find out who did the song Green Manalishi. Judas Priest. What I didn't know is that its really an older Fleetwood Mac song. very interesting. I kinda like Judas Priest. I love the video and song for "Breaking the Law". I don't think they were your typical metal band, much as Motorhead isn't, either. THey had something else (well, later we found out that the SOMETHING was that Rob Halford is gay..maybe that has something to do with it)...they were less cheesy than alot of crap like ..oh, don't even get me started, I'll stop here. I have a secret (not so secret anymore) love for certain earlier Def Leppard songs (Photograph, Bringing on the Heartbreak, Rock of Ages, etc.) Not "Pour some Sugggah on me" though. I thought the drummer was cute, even AFTER he lost his arm. I can't believe I'm writing about Judas Priest and Def Leppard. I'm a product of the late 70's/80s. I also think Metallica's "RIde the LIghtning" is brilliant, but you won't catch me wearing there tshirts or chatting on their websites..I think they are such ego-maniacs. I was talking at work last week about the Young Ones, most people didn't know what I was talking about. I mean, by god..didn't everyone love that fucking show? My favorite was Neil cuz he always cooked lentils, was soooooo mellow and slightly stupid and had long stringy hair (and slightly resembled an ex boyfriend, who is more attactive than Neil) Anyways, I remember bands like Madness, the Damned, and Motorhead playing in the living room during these shows. The 80s//how I miss them so much, sometimes. I miss when Siouxsie and Joy Division and Christian Death were considered the gloom-n-doom that is now replaced by bands I've never even heard of. These new "goth" bands. What are they like? I never used "goth" the term was "death-rock" or "gloom-n-doom"...I looked terrible with a nest of spiky black hair, that is for sure! I am such a sucker for nostalgia!! I love thinking about my college days. Drinking a bottle of raspberry riunite wine. Hanging out w/the Bateman sisters in their house that was designed to look like The Amityville horror house, I swear. I would sit outside on there porch waiting for them to get home after I finished my classes. I'd invariably be eating a peanut buster parfait (tangent: I had this German boyfriend, Dieter, he could never order it right at [email protected] would say "yes, I vould like a peanut buttah bust, pleays!" I also cracked up at that)...I hated waited for the Bateman sisters in their house (even though the door was always open)..being up there, even in daylight freaked me out. Someone had given them a gravestone (we were soooo goth before GOTH came to be, man!) and it sat in the hallway. That just seemed like a bad thing to have..bad luck. I'm a little superstitious, plus that place was HAUNTED. I saw the blonde-headed ghost sitting on one Bateman sister one time. I guess someone had committed suicide in the lower part of the house at some point. Doesn't surprise me. I have both found and horrific memories of the Monroe St. house. people overdosing on sleeping pills, people locking themselves in their rooms blasting This Mortal Coil's song that goes "I want to die. I want to live." Yikes. Poor G. She survived and seems better and it probably made J. a better/stronger person to have to help take care of her sister. I also have fond memories of eating rice and fried potatoes with loads of soy sauce (we were all so broke). I remember fun parties where we danced to blondie and then the misfits and the smiths. I remember drunken, uninvited frat boy types showing up. I remember trying to convince them that I was actually a drag queen called Stan The Man. Ah, the mustard colored and black trimmed Monroe St. House. There were so many "houses" in Carbondale. There was The House of Voodoo, which was occupied by sexy Steve who J. wanted (probably everyone wanted). Then theere was Club Romex (where Lou/the absentminded midget that I dated lived)..lots of bands played at these houses in the basements. I'm sure that still goes on, but I'm too old for that shit now and it couldn't ever be as fun and crazy as 1987-1989 in Carbondale, IL. How I loved being a college misfit.