2002-07-16 : Cheese and Crackers Rule!!
I don't believe that there is anything better in life to eat than cheese-n-crackers or homemade, just-outta-the oven bread with butter. Yum! Not that I am eating either of these. I used to have a bread machine (which seems to defeat the purpose of why baking bread is fun...getting your hands all doughy, and kneading that dough until it is silky, silky) but my ex-husband has it. I demanded I take the juicer (which is great, and I need to make myself use it more)..fresh carrot/apple juice..YUM! I must be hungry right now. I said a prayer at my altar today to the universe to give me PATIENCE with my goddamn, boring ass job and to just enjoy little daily things about life no matter where I am or what I am doing. It seems to be working cuz I am in a good mood, despite being bored at work, and I actually feel like being productive today! Last night we watched Logan's Run (or at least most of it) I remember thinking it was so cool and realistic when I saw it as a kid. Now it looks so dated. The costumes and the feathered hair. I loved the cheesy computer-generated, synthesized sound effects, though. Those still rock, in an archaic way!! Michael York is sort of sexy in a Neanderthal way. He looks slightly like Roger Waters, but much better..Roger Waters is a dork. I hate Pink Floyd without Syd Barrett. But, don't let me go on about my music snobbery!! This weekend I babysat Maya, which was pretty fun, despite the fact that I just can't handle kids asking 1000 questions every minute that I don't have answers to. We went to the Seattle Center, got candy and pop and rode rides (we went on the Ferris Wheel twice and the Carousel). Now that word, carousel..that is a great word. I just love the word. What can I say. Saturday night Jay and I ate dinner w/my stepdad who was in town w/friends doing some sight-seeing. It was probably the most pleasant time I've ever spent with him. Like ever. He was jovial, not TOO sarcastic and he bought us expensive meals. On the car ride back he started talking about Art Bell and how people think the world is going to end or something catastrophic and earth-shifting will be happneing in 10 yrs (2012). He's such a conservative fellow, but he's got these weird UFO/conspiracy theory interests, etc. On Sunday we went to the Capitol HIll Block Party and saw The Briefs and Dead Moon. Dead Moon are so great. They are like 55 and they totally rock and seem so genuine. The Briefs were good in their fluffy, fairly derivative way. I enjoyed myself, though, despite all the hipsters tryhing to impress everyone with their punk rock/emo/rockabilly/Bettie Page fashion sense. oh yea..I really like the comic Get Fuzzy. Tap-Tap turned me on to it. So cute..I love Bucky..he's a bastard cat!!