2002-07-28 : Ed, the 64 year old logger
Jason and I are sharing some smoked chicken tortellini and garlic bread that I ordered from Stacia's. My friend from Prague just sent a picture of himself at a cross-dressing party in Prague. He is wearing a burqa. Pretty funny. I can see one of his eyes and his hands holding a glass of darkish beer and that is it. I haven't seen him for 11 years or more. In just a few hours we'll be going to the Arthur Lee/Love concert. I've been lazying all around all weekend, reading, watching movies and TV and sleeping alot. Today I woke up to the sounds of someone in the neighborhood (probably across the lake, sounds carry) using some kind of buzz saw. THen I thought I heard someone yell "Ow!" and I imagined that the person with the saw had cut off a finger or worse, but then I realized the person kept saying "Otto, Otto"..like they were calling a brother or a pet. I hate the sound of saws. They only belong in the country!! On Friday night I had an interesting experience. I went to Mr. bills to eat and I became involved in an hour long conversation with a 64 year old blue collar logger type named Ed. I think he was disappointed that I was married. He looked like an older Billy Bob Thornton. I gathered that he liked younger women. Normally I would have been like "creepy old pervert, fuck off" but I felt adventurous and he was really mild-mannered so I ended up sitting at his table with him and watched him smoke his Bronco 100's and drink many, many cups of coffee. He told me about being from Pittsburgh..working in steel mills, driving cross country with his wife in the late 60s while 3 of their children were still in diapers. His abusive childhood (his dad drank, called him mom a whore, and said stuff to Ed and his siblings like "I wish you guys would run out in the street and get killed by a car.") and other fascinating stories. After awhile I kinda got creeped out and I took my leave. I felt sorry for the guy. He told me he had a girlfriend my age for 2 1/2 years. Anyways, I think the waitresses at Mr Bills were sort of secretly concerned for my safety because they kept coming over and asking if everything was alright and they would look at me with this semi-secret code in their eyes like "did this guy kidnap you? why are you sitting with this old guy?" etc. It was pretty funny. He was lonely and sort of pathetic. Someone shoot me before I become a 64 year old loner, please!! Anyways...that is about it for now. I'll write about the Love concert tommorrow when I'm pissed off being at work on a Monday.