2002-08-03 : I have no sympathy for Pukers
I'm listening to the new Sonic Youth album "Murray St." and well, its...PRETTY! I guess all their stuff is in a very disjointed, jangly way. I have always wondered why my brain is wired to really appreciate kind of noisy, discordant music. It is like white noise or something and I find it very relaxing though you'd think it'd frazzle my nerves. Especially with me kinda being a naturally nervous person. I find the drone of machines soothing as well. Like the whirring of a copier being used at work or the sound of the ker-chunk, ker-chunk of bulk mail going through a mail machine and being stamped. I just love repetitious rhythms, I guess. They are trance inducing. I just finished watching "Waiting for Guffman" I can't believe I hadn't rented it until now. Christopher Guest just CRACKS me up..his humor is pretty subtle. I love Eugene Levy..I just love him in all movies...I wish he was my dad. My Jewish dad. Jason spent the night over at Bruno's last night, they went to Zach's to seem some punk rock (I was interested...seen it once see it all!) and I guess he drank too much. Anyways, I had trouble going to sleep last night (and not cuz he wasn't here). It was cuz I was watching one of the girls in So. California that got kidnapped/raped and was held hostage by some freak for 12 hours talk about her ordeal and it just gave me the creeps and then I was worrying that someone would attempt to climb from the ground up to my balcony, get in through the hole in the screen and rape or murder me...ridiculous fears that I have on rare occassions when I'm sleeping alone at night (though I feel secure in this security building, esp.living pretty high up off the ground). ANyways, I woke up at like 4:45 am and Jay wasn't home yet so I assumed (correctly, he called me later in the morning) that he had a little too much to drink and slept at Brunos. He came home at about 10:00 and headed straight to the bathroom from the front door and I heard him go and puke in the toilet. Yuck! I really have to admit that I have no sympathy for people that get hangovers. I just don't drink that much and that is probably why I'm not sympathetic (plus my ex husband was always puking from drinking or gagging himself while brushing his teeth, etc.) ick!! We are going to a house party in the U-district tonight where several bands are playing. I haven't seen bands play at a house or in a basement since, God, college? Should take me back. Far back. I hope it'll be fun!! Well, I'm off to Walgreens to fill yet another one of my 4 prescriptions I take (brain chemistry, how I love you!) and then I want to go to this antique mall down the street and see if they still have this gorgeous coral colored beaded cardian sweater from the 50s. I hope to purchase it! Ciao!