2002-08-19 : Big Greasy Tummy and SIGNS
Oh mama..I am tired. Soooo tired..sooo tired. I think it's from eating a gargantuan (isn't that a great word. Did I spell it right? Who cares!) chicken-fried steak meal at Mr. Bills..garlic mash taters, a roll, corn and well, chicken-fried steak. Jay had to finish half my meal. Sometimes I feel like a pig when I am eating meals like that. Corn spilling on my lap..potatoes in my hair..grease on my chin..But MMMMMMMMM..tastes SO GOOD! This weekend was nice. Friday night Jay and I decided to go see some music. We saw The Popular Shapes (less coherent Fugazi sound..not bad, not great, either) The Wolfs (terrrible "garage" rock from Salt Lake City (that probably explains it!) I enjoyed their first song. I was thinking "dang..these guys sound like the Standells" but it was just SHIT after that song..oh well..better luck next time. THey shold probably break up SOON! Then The Gloryholes played. I like them alot. Lotsa energy. I swear I have a crush on their bass player..she is just SO FUCKING CUTE. She had long pigtails and she has nice pouty lips and wears alot of dark lipstick. I must have a crush on her or something...she just exudes cuteness. THen we saw a few songs of The Epoxies, who are cute and fun and all but I just don't really get into them, no matter how much the singer reminds me of Siouxsie crack or how many quirky new-wave keyboard parts they interject into their NEW-WAVE songs..the schtick gets old real fast, in my opinion. I did befriend a very sweet but drunk and stupid little crusty punk..I was complimenting him on G.B.H. shirt and we chatted a little. Guess what he told me his name was? Danarchy! Get it..like, his name must be Dan , but he changed it be dANARCHY..I couldn't believe he went by that name. I am still laughing my head off. I kept a straight face when he told me, though. I drank only two beers but I ended up smoking several cigarettes (normally I don't smoke more than 2-3 cigs per month or even less than that) so on the way home we are stuck in traffic and I feel like puking and having diarrhea at the same time..incredibly uncomfortable. I made it home without messing up the car, thank god!! Saturday I hung out w/my friend Lynn..we went to brunch at the Wild Mountain Cafe where I ate something called "THe Tower of Power" (isn't that a bad 80's band?)...it was potato cakes covered with lotsa yummy sauteed veggies and then covered with cheddah cheese. THen we went and saw "Signs"...what can I say? I love the directors name more than his movies: M. Night Shamalayan. A perfect, perfect name..just beautiful. I wonder if the M. stands for Midnight (just kidding)..."Signs" had creepy elements and it was effective in making people jump and squirm in their seats alot and I love some of his typical camera shots that you find also in "The Sixth Sense" (still his best movie) and "Unbreakable" (which I liked more than most everyone else, it seems)...but the last 1/4 of the movie was just so HOKEY. It ruined the entire movie. I won't go into detail...check it out and see what I mean (or better yet, wait til video!) On Sunday I slept like 12 hours (so did Jason)..we fell asleep Saturday night before 10:00 pm..isn't that just obscenely geriatric or something??? I did end up seeing what I consider a better movie on Sunday..I went to see "The Good Girl"..now I despise Jennifer Aniston and I hate FRIENDS but she was darn good in this little somber indie flick, and her little love interest in this film, Jake Rhynethal or whatever the heck his name is (See Donnie Darko...weird, good movie) is so SEXY...yum. I love his eyes..yum..Ok, I'll stop. Well..Jay really wants his turn on the computer, so I'm off!!