2002-09-05 : I'm SOOOOO Tired and Why Jason is a sweetie
I'm back on the mainland. I love being back in Seattle. I missed Jay, the weather, the lack of mosquitos and my 2 adorable cats. I am very UNHAPPY to be back at work today, though. I still feel jet lagged. REALLY Fucking tired. I still have about 10 mosquito bite on each leg and a few on my toes..not quite as itchy, but a few still need some hardcore, blood-drawing scratching. I LOVE the satisfying feeling of scratching bug bites until they bleed. AAAAAHH!! Things I'll miss about Hawaii: Watching the ocean when going to sleep or waking up. Looking at green geckos playing on big palm plants. THe brilliance of the stars in the clear night sky. My niece/nephew and their creativity, their silly stories and big toothy smiles. My mom. I can talk to her about most anything. We have very similar temperments. I'll miss the red road. The black sand and the lava flows that look like a nuclear war has hit some of this land. I'll miss the feeling of wanting to do nothing but lay around. I love being lazy and not feeling guilty about it. I'll love the way everything smells like either green peppers or fresh, tropical flowers over there. I won't miss hearing the words "Maholo" or the cramped planes or the goddamn hippies everywhere that smelled like BO and said "blessings" and called me "sister." I won't miss that at all. I'm much to cynical and angry to have to listen to that bullshit. Now, I'm just being judgemental and mean but their version of "peace and love" just irks me so much, thank you. Anyways..I am glad I took yesterday off in order to relax and rest after spending all of Tuesday on planes or in airports. Oh yea, at the Honolulu airport I saw a Hawaiian woman transporting a big "sacred heart" jesus lawn ornament/statue behind her in what looked like a golf cart with wheels. It was so surreal and funny. I wonder if it said "Full of Grace" like Me-mama's Virgin Mary did (I'm referring to the John Waters' movie Pecker in case anyone didn't get the reference). Yesterday Jay and I went and ate Middle Eastern food downtown for lunch, then we went to the aquarium. I love the seals/otters and the giant floating octopus. Then we watched an IMAX film on Dolphins...I love those dolphins. THey seem to have perma-grin..always smiling. THen I had a massage...great day. We are supposed to go out to Jay's parents this weekend to have a dual b-day celebration for me (sept 2.) and Arnie (Jay's dad)..sept. 8. Should be fun, though I hope I'm over my jet lag by then. Damn..I really need a nap right now. I can barely keep my eyes open. Maybe I'll go talk a walk.