2002-09-12 : Grant Lee Buffalo, BBQ, MR. POLICE DOLL
I have to write more. I forgot in the last entry about how those English people were always renting cars to go see some of the United States and one or another of them would always be drunk..they wrecked like ALL the rental cars...not just dents but totalling the rental cars. I shouldn't laugh because they could have hurt or killed somebody (I hate people that drive drunk...fucking idiots!) but all these wrecked rental cars (noone ever got hurt) just crack me up!! Now I gotta quote some Grant Lee Buffalo. I just adore them. Grant Lee Phillips writes the most Amazing stories/lyrics this...about the only one that surpasses him is Arthur Lee or someone like that. People might just dismiss Grant Lee Buffalo as a boring roots-rock/REM rip off band, but they are O SO MUCH BETTER THAN REM or any other band in that folk-rock/alt-country genre (I hate categorizing..sorry..but sometimes you just gotta do it)...I love Grant's ability to change his voice from whiskey rough to this sweet, honey falsetto that he does. But it is really his amazing lyrics...such as the lyrics from "Soft Wolf Tread" from their 1st album, Fuzzy ("Fuzzy" is such an amazing song too!)...what a creepy take on Lil' Red Riding Hood. Here are the lyrics:

The soft wolf read thru Emerald Forest he was lookin' to made a bed, There in the spindly thicket softly did he tread the soft wolf tread

Sure was starved

and thru his silver coat his ribs shown sharply carved The hand that feeds was pickin' weeds Sure looked starved

Up comes Hood, he's beautiful

as a sirloin steak to a pit bull chained up It's good to see such an old friend again such an old friend again such an old friend again.

THen he said Dear Hood what brings you to this neck of the woods in your scarlet cape and your basket full of grapes what lures you to the woods

The soft wolf tread the clearing and he's nervously tugging on his earring he talked how good such and old friend again....

----

anyways....I just love that song..it is really eerie and dark and clever.

Ok..I'll go now.

------

Oh yea, Last night I drank a bunch of butterscotch schnapps with Baileys and half-half (a bastard version of a buttery nipple)...delicious..and I decided I had to play random DJ so I entertained (or irked) Tap and Jay with thiings such as Judas Priest, Cheap Trick (I was happy to find that Tap loves Cheap Trick as much as I do!) Hank Williams Sr, X...boy..pretty varied, huh? I drank enough water so I don't feel hungover. Tap was pleased with the BBQ at the Ok Corral. TOO bad Otis and Winston weren't there, though. Just some mild-mannered middle aged white guy. We ate ribs, hot links, greens, hush puppies and potato salad and they ate fried cat fish (I hate fish..I passed)..my tummy ws full and it was beautiful. Tap also gave me this hilarious book (can't remember that name of it) but it is basically a "Would you rather.." book. Some of the questions were "Would you rather clean your teeth with the sawed up tail of a dead wild rat or brush your teeth using a communal tooth brush from the local prison?" We all opted for the prison toothbrush. Another nasty one was "Would you rather have a dead mouse in your butt or a dead frog in your mouth?" We all opted for the dead frog in the mouth. Can't wait to read more of those. She also gave me a Cop doll..he is the POLICE..he is the LAW. He looks tough. I might take out my Kitty Fun Barbie and have those two GET IT ON! Just kidding (well..I might do it for fun, though...I'll let ya know!)

Well....we'll see what tonight holds in store!!