2002-09-19 : Stale Tortilla Chips and the Puyallup Fair
I'm currently snacking on very stale tortilla chips that my friend at work gave me. It is too early for lunch and I only had a piece of toast for breakfast (and I ate that exactly 4 hours ago) so I start to feel nauseated when I have an empty stomach for too long. The tortilla chips, stale or not, are satisfying (just like Snickers!) Jay told me about this dream he had where he and I were riding in the back of a cop car, only we weren't under arrest or anything. The cop was just driving us home for some unfathomable reason and the cop looked like Harry Dean Stanton (Ever seen Repo Man?..yea, that older guy for those of you not in the know!) and Jay felt like this cop wasn't "really" a cop. He kept giving the guy directions and the guy just wasn't listening (which reminded Jay of when he gives directions to his father!) and suddenly the cop started driving on the sidewalk and then there was another car full of teenagers who also happened to be driving on the sidewalk and the cop almost hit them and at some point we got outta the car and noticed there were bulletholes all around the trunk area and Jay opened the trunk and there was a dead body inside (well, of course! What else would be in a trunk besides a body? Well, ok..A dead dog, perhaps (Wonder Boys reference))...strange dream. I called him and he said I woke him up from the dream right when we were about to get home. Probably has some sort of symbolic meaning. Don't all dreams? We decided we are going to the Puyallup fair on Saturday as it is the last weekend. Jay's mom sent us tickets, so it is free. I love and hate the fair all at once. It is a surreal nightmare with good, fried food and fun rides. I like to check out the carnies and see just how wierd this year's batch of them is. Those guys give me the creeps, but they are sort of sexy (just kidding!)