2002-10-18 : Melt Banana and my mother
It is amazing what a pair of red and black striped tights will do to people. While walking to work, every person that passed seem to stare at my legs and even do double-takes. A woman on the bus even went as far as to say "Wow..I really like your tights" (I just lip read this, because I had music blasting in my ears). When I get to work someone called me Pipi Longstocking, which is a very reasonable nickname for me anyway if you know me at all. I just hope I don't look like I stepped right out of Hot Topic. God, I hate that store. My death-rock (oh excuse me...'Goth') days ended somewhere around 1989-1990. My favorite color is orange, not black. I still do like Halloween alot though (but I'll be dressing up as Lil Red Riding Hood, not vampire vixen or Victorian ghost). I do admit I got to have my Siouxsie fix occassionally, but for the most part, my dark dark days are behind me (except for that damned depression and anxiety thing I deal with, but we all have heard plenty about that from me, haven't we?)

It is nice having mom in town. We went and ate at the Cheesecake Factory, which was a pleasant experience, actually, though I'm not a big fan of "chain restaurants". The portions were gargantuan (isn't that a great word, even if I spelled it wrong? That word reminds of Jean Cocteau..? Why?) and I ate a very tasty grilled eggplant sandwich. We took the bus back to my place which seemed to thrill my mom seeing as that she said she probably hasn't taken a bus since 1966 while a college student in Chicago at Loyola University (she was a nurse-in-training at the same time Richard Speck killed those nurses in Chicago..creepy)...so, we got home and she hadn't seen Billy Elliott, so we watched that but I got too sleepy to finish it. I was trying to turn her on to T-Rex (who seem to provide all the songs for that movie, which pleases me cuz I like me some Marc Bolan)...mom ended up sleeping in bed with me cuz we wanted to go to sleep early and Jay didn't have to work today so he wanted to be in the other room staying up late, etc. I don't think I've shared a bed with mom since I was a little kid. I was kind of nice. Today when I turned off the alarm, with my eyes closed I almost rolled over her and I was like "this doesn't feel like Jason" and then I realized it was my mother which was a little strange in a way I can't entirely explain. Tonight Jay and I are going to see the glorious Japanese heavy noise of Melt Banana and then tommorrow night we are going to a party for the Tablet which is a local rag he writes music reviews for. The Gloryholes will be playing there and it'll be free, so of course all free things are FUN!! Oh, and I didn't fall on the street ONCE today!!