2002-10-23 : Childhood Memories: Xanadu and playing ballet
When my mother was in town she was asking me if I even had any good childhood memories (I exagerrate childhood and teenage angst sometimes) and I said "Yes, of course I do." and I couldn't think of many at the time but I figure..maybe I'll write a few in here.

Being so excited on Xmas eve as I would be lying in bed, unable to sleep. Getting up with my brother and sister WAY before we were supposed to wake our parents up. We'd go down the stairs as quietly as mice and only plug in the xmas tree lights and it was always amazing to see all those packages that had appeared overnight.

Playing with my Barbie's in the backyard. Talking to myself while playing with them and making them talk to each other. They were tree fairies, flood victims, campers, all kinds of cool things. My fave barbie was the "Scottish" Barbie. This is when they first came out with the International Barbie series. She had long red hair and a Black and White and Red Long Plaid Velvet dress. I later chopped off all her hair and scribbled on her face w/permanent marker. Guess that was the beginning of pubery/misery.

Putting on Tchaikovsky's Firebird in the basement with my sister and we'd pretend we were in a ballet. I was always taller at first so I always had to be "the boy" and she always got to be "the girl" so I would be able to lift her off the ground. We also used to rollerskate to The Grease and Xanadu soundtracks down there.

Buying my first records with my own money. My first LP was the Go-Go's "Beauty and The Beat" and my first 45's were Joan Jett's "I love Rock-n-Roll" and "Crimson and Clover"

Sitting up in my light blue room, reading and reading and reading and reading.

----

I can't remember anymore. I guess it all had to do w/music, imagination or books.