2002-10-27 : Cats and Candied Sweet Potatoes
I've just sprinkled a large amount of catnip on the carpet and the cats are going absolutely mad. Running around, chasing each other. Sneezing and sniffing and rolling around on the floor. I got a message from my friend (and old college roommate) that she had a baby boy (Bridger) on 10-22. It was such a sweet message. It makes me happen when my friends have babies! Jay said "Oh no...it doesn't make YOU want to have a baby,though, does it?" and I said "No..but it just makes me feel happy!" I noticed that my friend has lived long enough in Minnesota to have acquired what I'd say is a "Northern Illinois/Minnesoatian combo accent"...I guess I havent' heard her voice for a couple of years!I wonder if I've picked up some sort of northern west coast accent. I'm not sure that there even is one. Last night I went to a Halloween party. It was really rather boring, except I did eat alot of food, including some homemade spring rolls (the cold kind) that were delicious. Guess I'm not easily entertained. I don't always know how to make small talk. I just sit on the couch and smile alot. Still..it was fun getting dressed up!! I'm off to make candied sweet potatoes (yep..the kind w/the bubbly marshmallows on top..yummers!) for my book club meeting today. We are having kind of a mock Thanksgiving feast and I cannot wait to stuff myself (no pun intended!)