2002-11-14 : The Irish, The Amish, and..me
Ok..so many people have probably heard/seen this, but I still find it funny and it is hanging in my kitchen:

IRISHMAN'S PHILOSOPHY!

----------------------------

There are 2 things to worry about either you are sick or you are well,

If You are well, Then there's nothing to worry about.

But if you are sick there are 2 things to worry about, either you will get well or you will die..

If you die, there are 2 things to worry about. Either you will go to heaven or hell.

If you go to heaven there is nothing to worry about. But if you go to hell, you'll be so damn busy shaking hands with friends you won't have time to worry!

--------

anyways, I found this great website (thanks Tap!) called the dick list (www.dicklist.com)..sorry too lazy to link...Girls..go their and read about and add your stories about boyfriends, one-night stands and husbands (and ex-husbands) who are assholes!! It is pretty entertaining in one's moments of man-hating. Not that I'm really having one of those moments but I TRULY appreciate the sentiment of the site! Let's see..dinner w/Jill was really nice last night...we talked equally about our problems and what has been going on w/our lives and so I didn't feel so much like I did in my previous entry about self-absorbed people. Tonight I'm getting my eyes checked and new glasses at 8, but before that I'm going to Costas, my fave Greek restaurant and indulging in an entire order of Saganaki (flaming cheese for those that haven't had it) and it will be eaten ALL BY MYSELF with pita bread and I"ll eat a salad to pretend that I'm having a healthy meal.

Yesterday I was reading stuff about the amish on the net and I didn't know this but when they are teenagers, both males and females are encouraged to "experiment w/temptation"...basically, they can rebel against the traditional Amish dress..can drive a car, drink, have sex, smoke..whatever (though I'm sure their parents prefer they limit these activities) and basically have a taste of the outside world, because at a certain age (18?) they are then forced to A). Join the church as an adult and follow the rules or B). live in the "English" world (The Amish call the rest of us "English" no matter what our ancestral background is because they tend to speak/be Dutch/Swiss/German) and be shunned from their family, community, etc...anyways, the teenage boys while going through this stage of "freedom" tend to form "gangs" (not that they necessarily promote violence or crime) and some of the "gang" names the Amish youth are in are "The Crickets" and "The Antiques"..anyways, I found this all slightly humorous and really fascinating. I've always had a big fascination with the Amish mostly because when I was younger my mom and sometimes my grandma would drive out to Arthur (Arthur, Illinois) to get buy apple butter and cheese and the like from the Amish, because they make the BEST cheese and Apple Butter, quilts, etc, so I got used to seeing horse and buggies, the bonnets, beards and wide-brimmed black hats. Speaking of fruit butters, I'm still eating the Apricot Butter mom brought me from Curtis Orchards back in Champaign...YUM! Even better than apple butter to me! Not much else to say. I'm trying not to be so bitter and negative today (that rhymed..damn I'm good!) HA HA