2002-11-23 : Frida Kahlo
Today was Frida day. I went to the Seattle Art Museum's Modern Mexican Art Exhibit and looked at Frida Kahlo's works, along w/her husband's work (Diego Rivera) and some other really great Mexican artists whose names I've already forgotten (oops!)....I really like Rivera and I especially love Frida. Her famous "self portraits" are great and strange (and she was really much more beautiful and sensual than she portrays herself...photographs of her prove this!) but it was some of her lesser known, more surreal works that really struck a nerve in me. Anyways, I am not an artist and I am not pretentious (most of the time) so I'm not gonna sit here and describe the tone and quality of her paintings. I just really liked them.

Afterwards I headed down to corporate bullshit 16-cineplex theatre and saw the movie "Frida"...Salma Hayek was wonderful in it. Actually, everybody was great. It made me want to dye my hair black and wear it in strange braids infused with colorful ribbons, walk around in long skirts, smoking and drinking and aching and painting my suffering (now THAT sounds pretentious!) and owning monkeys as pets and having turbulent love affairs with men and women. The colors were so bright in the movie and I loved that and I loved all the Mexican songs, too.

Everyone should go see it!!

Well, that's about it. I'm hungry and thirsty and wanna think about that movie some more. I'm inspired to read a biography of Frida now. Put it on my long, long list.