2002-12-23 : Snoopy jumps over a rainbow
I'd REALLY like to have vivid dreams of Orson Welles and his lovely ex-wife, Rita Hayworth. Ever since watching The Lady from Shanghai a couple weeks ago my "Orson Welles is a genius" spark has been lit again and I"m looking on Google for Orson Welles sights. What a voice, what turgid eyes. I need to rent "The Stranger" and "The Trial" and "The Magnificent Ambersons" again and revisit "Citizen Kane" though I alwasy found that film to be slightly over-rated. Poor Orson was only 70 when he died of a heart attack. But that makes sense considering how HUGE and bulbous he became as he got older. Rita Hayworth has always been my favorite classic cinema siren. Forgot those champagne blondes or those Bette Davis eyes, just give me that Flaming Red Hair!! I have egg Fu Yung breath and it is bothering me. I've been eating alot of sweet potatoes lately and I should feel healthy (and I partially do) but I still feel really TIRED right this second. It could just be the tedium of this job. Always calling on the phone, staring at a computer and typing. It wears me down to my bones, I swear!

The "Uncle Bevin" Xmas party was really irritating. I just don't like family gatherings at all, ESP> when I don't really know anyone. I do like Jay's Uncle Bevin though. He likes to talk about Scotch and he's over 70 and he laughs just like a Simpsons character!! He gave us the dreaded "Olive Garden" gift card for dinner. I appreciate his generosity, I really do, and I could never be rude to him, but JESUS..The Olive Garden has the WORST food, and to boot, the last time we went there (a year ago with our LAST Olive Garden certificate) the waiter was so gung-ho on pleasing us and seemed so god damned superficial that I just wanted to hide under the table! Still, one shouldn't look a gift horse in the mouth (or however that saying goes!) While we were at the party at least 5 people there asked if I was ok and needed something to drink ("Water, not even water. I can get you a glass of water.") and I kept replying that I was fine (I'm not really a thirsty person in general and I just can't bring myself to drink alcohol before sundown and it was only 2 pm) and if ONE more "polite" person tryed to play host/hostess to me I was gonna end up yelling "I'm fine. Now leave me ALONE!"

Jay used the excuse of band practice (we went to Everett Mall instead and tryed to be invisible in Hot Topic (I hate the store..but I did find a couple of cute things such as some Peanuts Buttons (Jay has the Woodstock one on his coat and I have the Snoopy jumping next to a Rainbow on mine)) and I had just had to laugh at all the corporate rebellion that is sold in that store (which I gave $$ to, ain't I a hypocrite! Hee Hee)..Jay had me buy him a Bettie Page Airfreshener. It's sexy and cheesecakey AND it smells really strongly of vanilla, which I like. Well, I hope everyone has a good Holiday. I'm sure I'll be back tommorrow!