2003-01-03 : A Rhyming Sickness
"Sometimes you feel like a nut, sometimes you don't..Almond Joy's got nuts..Mounds don't.."

I just ate an Almond Joy and that commercial came back to me immediately. We went to look at a TINY 2 bedroom (they should just call it a 1 bedroom with a LARGE walk-in closet as far as I'm concerned!) last night and the slightly uptight elderly man that showed it to us looked like Buck Henry, according to Jay. Our car continues to die everywhere we drive it, which is really frustrating. Our gracious friend J has agreed to drive us around to look at apartments tommorrow afternoon because we just don't trust the car. DAMN! Someone keeps accidentally turning our overhead lights off briefly..DISCO LIGHT!! Too bad the POWER doesn't go off (and stay off for awhile!) so we can get sent home early!

I should find a recipe in my DICTIONARY sized veggie cookbook that is complicated and sounds delicious and attempt to cook it this weekend. Book club on Sunday. I will make a filling pasta salad (cuz I have to bring a side-dish anyway) so that I'll have something main-coursey to eat cuz I didn't tell anyone in the bookclub that I gave up meat for New Years. I hope they don't roll their eyes at me and shit. I can UNDERSTAND that people enjoy eating meat, but I don't want people to flip me an attitude (ahem..ADA!) cuz I decided to give it up. I don't care what other people do. Why am I being defensive to an invisible audience about this? I have no idea why. I guess cuz I used to semi-insult vegetarians (only behind their backs, of course!) and now I am one!

I really like Edward Gorey. People should send me Edward Gorey stuff. Pomegranate.com has great posters/address books/note cards/postcards/bookmarks..I just ordered a new address book and a few other things that are cute, including an Edward Gorey magnet...shopping for stuff on-line is very addictive cuz I can sit down while doing it. No walking around stores. No getting impatient with people in my face or people that walk too fucking slow everywhere they go (What? Am I Dr. Seuss now? PEOPLE WALKING TOO FUCKING SLOW, EVERYWHERE THEY GO. MAYBE IT WILL SNOW AND THEY WILL STUB THEIR TOE AND GO INSIDE SO I CAN QUICKEN MY STRIDE....

Ok, that was stupid! I think I'll go at this point. I really should (take a walk around the neighborhood)...AWWWW..it is a rhyming sickness.