2003-01-06 : I'm very EXCITED about something
I went outside this morning to soak up some sun during the break and I'm glad I did. It felt GOOD soaking up all that Vitamin D!! Supposed to remain sunny this entire week. Am I the only one that talks about weather in their diary? Probably! I am REALLY EXCITED because on Saturday Jay and I found a place to move to for February. It's on Capitol Hill, which is a great neighborhood (but is usually too expensive to afford!) The apartment is a little bigger than the one we live in now, AND it costs $50.00 less per month. As soon as we parked and walked up to the building I just KNEW I wanted to live there. I hadn't even seen the apartment yet but I just KNEW. It is an old brick (I guess they called them brownstones, only this one is light beige stone) apartment building that was most likely built in the 1930's. I have ALWAYS wanted to live in an old brick apartment building and never have..until now. When you look in through the heavy front door (it is a security building which I always like!) you can see a large, old-fashioned staircase going up to the other floors from the foyer. The apartment has character since the building is old, but it isn't run-down. New carpet. The tiling and bathroom floors are in great shape..It even has partially tiled walls IN the bathroom and I have always LOVED that! The living room and bedroom (which is much bigger than our current bedroom) are separated by a sliding French Door which can be closed completely. I think that gives alot of character to the place. Gas stove..which I much prefer cooking on (electric BURNS...) and I only had to give him $500.00 to hold this place/move in. He's giving us our keys in the next couple of days and basically FOR FREE we have the rest of January to slowly move our stuff in. They were offering a move-in special "one month free" so, basically, we pay 1/2 a month's rent on Feb. 1st and then half a month's rent on March 1st...AWESOME! It is in a great neighborhood and within walking distance to EVERYTHING (including some of our fave bars!) I could even walk to work (though it'd be a 25-30 minute walk..but I've done it before)..or if I choose to take a bus it will only be a 10-15 min. ride to work (as opposed to a 40-45 min. ride from where I live now)..anyways, I'm really excited!!

I plan on going through ALL my stuff and donating and getting rid of 3/4 of it. Esp. clothes..I don't need all the stuff I have accumulated and I don't want our apartment to be cluttered (and the downside of the apartment is that there isn't much closet space or anything)...It'll feel good to sort through all my stuff and get it down to basics. I hope Jason will get rid of most of the useless junk he has accumulated (such as YEARS worth of car magazines!) I think he realizes we have way too much stuff as it is and that is good cuz I don't want to argue with him about it.

Saturday night J and M (whom I haven't hung out with in a LONG time..it's good to have her back in my life) and I went to the Ballard Firehouse and saw some wonderful music from West Africa. I've seen these guys before: Alpha Yaya Diello. I danced my ass off. The rhythm of their songs and his jangly guitar riffs just almost hypnotize one. I couldn't stop dancing. It was as if my body was magnetized to the floor. Eventually I did have to stop out of sheer exhaustion and need for water, and once I stopped I couldn't start again, but I got a good work-out anyway. Last night Jay and I watched The Barbershop, which was sort of funny but not "roll on the floor laughing, peeing your pants" funny the way I thought it might be. Overall I found it to be ridiculously cliched. Cedric The Entertainer's character was a hoot, though! Well, I think I'm gonna leave early today and enjoy the sunshine!