2003-01-07 : Rare Film Footage Night!!!
Hot damn! Last night we picked up our keys to the new apartment. I still LOVE it! Now we can slowly begin moving stuff in there. THEN we went to the Sunset Tavern for "Monday Night Film Night"...Tim, the owner of Fallout Records (he is a sweetheart, by the way!) brought a tape of rare garage rock/early punk rock footage (plus a clip of Etta James...MEOW! and Howlin' Wolf from the Early Sixties (You can see a young Mick Jagger to the side watching the performance)...great stuff. So it was Jay and I and a bunch of other crazy people sitting at tables, sitting on stools and mostly sitting on the dirty red carpet (Jay and I were among those sitting on the carpet)..we saw footage of: Zachary Thaks (great mid 60's garage band), The Monks (On a German TV show.WOW! That is all I can say!) The Pretty Things, The Seeds, The Yardbirds, really early Captain Beefheart (he was barely recognizable!) The Mummies, The Saints,

The Scientists, The Dead Boys, The Damned..and some others that are slipping my mind at this point. My legs and neck got very stiff but it was worth it just for a glimpse of this stuff.

Time to get ready for work. I've just started a new book, "The Ladies Auxiliary"...its about a Orthdox Jewish community that lives in Memphis (it is fictional, but I hear there is a large Jewish population in Memphis!)

Auf Wiedersehen!