2003-01-10 : Tenants From Hell and My Mom saying FUCK alot
WHoo..I think I can take a breather now. Today has felt like Adrenaline Over-Drive and I'm not entirely sure why. Up until about an hour ago (that is when I took a sedative cuz I felt a pseudo-panic attack creeping up on me) I felt like I was on SPEED. Holy Fucking Iggy Pop Hyperactivity Shit. I haven't gotten much work done today (do I care? maybe slightly!) cuz I can't seem to concentrate. First I had to call all these fucking places (Seattle City Light, Puget Sound Energy, Qwest and Att Broadband) to disconnect and or/transfer my existing power,cable and electric to my new apartment ((I should have made Jay do this all but once again I am a control freak and didn't trust him to get everything done..I really need to learn how not to be so fucking anal and just TRUST Jay to be responsible..but I just can't..cuz he's never proven that he IS responsible) ANyways, FINALLY I've got all the utilites and such hooked up for the moving date, except Seattle City Light were big hairy fucking monkey butts about transferring my service. I've never encountered this before. I simply called and said I was moving and to please transfer my service from apartment a to apartment b on such and such a date, but NOOOOOOOO...turns out that the previous tenants of the apartment I'm moving into owe Seattle City Light $1000 bucks in back bills and because of this they are making my landlord fax over a copy of our rental agreement and the meter-reading (which he has to read himself) to their credit office, but this cannot be done until the DAY we move in..crazy. I tryed to argue about how the past tenants bill had absolutely fucking NOTHING to do with me and it wasn't my problem, but they said this was their policy. No biggie..everything will be fine, but I hate it when transitioning doesn't go smoothly. So I was just starting to relax when mom calls (she's in Hawaii) and I can here in her voice that she is really angry and stressed and so for 47 minutes we talk (mostly I listen..I don't mind though..when my mom lets loose a cannon of "fuck" and "god damn" it is really funny to me and we laugh about how she's acting so I don't mind her venting)...She has been having trouble "fitting in/finding her place" on the Big Island (where my sister and her 2 kids live) because..well, if you haven't ever spent time around Pahoa (that is on the Hilo/rainy side) then you wouldn't know that there are a bunch of dead-head/lazy/crazy/stoned motherfuckers (not to mention welfare grabbers) people that populate alot of this portion of this island..they are all free-loving, stinky, dreaded, ganja-toking unemployed, naked people. Don't get me wrong..I like alot of hippie types but I don't like being called "sister" constantly or be greeted with "blessings"..I just think alot of these people are lazy, looking for hand-outs and phony as all get out...my sister being one of them, though she is a good person and I dearly love her (but can't get along with her)..anyways, my mom is fairly liberal but compared to these kids (and older burnt-out hippies from the 60's) my mom is a midwest/redneck country bumpkin (not really...but you understand, right?) She just can't relate to these people and she can't find a job (she's a nurse) because of the nurses strike in Hawaii (which wasn't happening when she moved there in July)..she has no friends...relates to very few of the people she's met and ends up being an involuntary babysitter for my sister's two kids (whom she loves, but come on..she needs a break!)..anyways..I'm rambling as usual. Mom agreed to sublet this couple's house who are going to Africa for 6 weeks..no problem....cable tv, which she's missed..her own place/space etc....she had agreed to "watch" their 3 dogs (though of course they aren't lessening her rent for doing them this favor)...she goes to move in to day and it turns out one of the dogs is REALLY sick (nobody happened to mention that to my mom) and the owner is just kind of wishy/washy and meek "oh, he'll be ok...oh, he's eating, etc." and my mom goes to meet this dog who REEKs to high heaven of massive infected abcess of some sort (and the lady said her vet just informed her that the dog may have lymphoma..poor dog, that is death sentence, isn't it?)....So my mom is PAYING for the priviledge of having to take care of this very sick dog...change his bandages (she didn't ask for THIS type fo nursing job) and shove pills down his throat etc....so she was calling to rant and rave about this stuff. She also said that she had told the owner "Oh you don't need to make the place perfectly spotless before you go..." The lady obviously took advantage of that cuz my mom has to clean up an entire kitchen of dirty dishes, wash the bedding..and there are piles of laundry everywhere...she just feels taken advantage of..and I don't blame her. I think she felt better at the end of the conversation...she did START the conversation with "Ahh..I FUCKING HATE THIS PLACE..FUCKING HATE IT!"....She has pretty much decided that Hawaii is not for her and when her six week sublet is over she plans on using that one-way ticket she just happens to have to Seattle from another trip and she'll probably try living in Seattle..I'm really excited about that! I think she should have moved here all along. Anyways....This entry is probably long enough. I'm glad it is Friday and I want to go home, eat dinner and lay around reading my book and petting the cats and nothing else. GOodnight!