2003-01-15 : Blood of a Poet
I got alot of cool shit from the library yesterday. I've already read most of "Hollywood Babylon" (Jay was fighting me over it cuz he just finished Hollywood Babylon II...For anybody that loves "golden hollywood" gossip/scandal/murder/suicide..you gotta read these books by Kenneth Anger (check out his films, too..he's a genius in his own right!) I also checked out "Rosebud" which is a biography on Orson Welles..."Dot and Loops" by Stereolab (cuz I've never heard anything besides Emperor Tomato Ketchup) and best of all, I got a copy of Jean Cocteau's beautiful surrealist debut film "Blood of a Poet" which Jay watched with my last night. It is still as stunning to me (esp. since it was filmed in 1930..some of the camera tricks are pretty amazing for that time period!) as it was when I first saw it in my "History of Experimental Film" class way back in the good old days of 1989 and 1990!! Jay and I were talking about how blood in black and white (especially as it oozes out of a dying man's mouth) is even creepier than seeing it in color. Maybe it is because it actually looks black. Jay said that in some older movies they used to use Hershey's syrup as blood because it looked just like it. Crazy and Tasty!!