2003-02-21 : -
Let's see. Yesterday I wrote a poem about the comforts and security of eating mashed potatoes and sitting in my bed, and I'd like to post it here but I can never seem to format or code in html so that the poem actually breaks where I want it to at the end of each line (I'm REALLY picky about line breaks..that is one trick I learned while getting my degree in creative writing!)...any ideas? Tell me how to do it, you html and code gurus!!

I'm really getting into drinking green tea. For some reason it has just enough caffeine to perk me enough, but not enough to set off anxiety/jittery problems like coffee does (or even a candy bar, sometimes!) I love the bittery taste of it on my tongue!

I'm so tired today (stayed up sort of late last night) that when I got on the bus this morning I slid my bus pass through the detector and it didn't make the proper sound and I didn't really think anything of it and the bus driver didn't say anything and as I sat down to put away my bus pass I realized that I'd actually swiped my timecard/identification badge from work, and not my bus pass at all. Strange, how the bus driver didn't seem to notice anymore than me that I wasn't even using the bus pass. GUH!!

Last night I walked home and on the way I got a membership at Video Vertigo that specializes in alot of campy/exploitation/cult classic films. I checked out a video of 3 Young Ones' Episodes....remember that show? I loved it when I was in high school. I also checked out a movie called "Bummer"...It's put out by Something Weird videos (I love all their stuff) and it's from somewhere between '68 and '72 and its about some "groovy" girls that go looking for fun at a concert only to fall prey to the psychotic band that takes advantage (and even KILLS!) it's groupies....WHAAAAAA (*cue crazy acid-tinged guitar and freak-out LSD scenes*)...The other one I rented is another freaky Joan Crawford movie called "Strait-Jacket"...she plays a psycho wife who catches her husband cheating on her. Should be good! I need a nap..I really do. Last night was a free punk rock show at Zac's that I decided to go to at the last minute. All these bands (including some of my faves: The Gloryholes and The Fall-outs) agreed to play for free in honor of celebrating Fall-Out Records (my fave Seattle record store) that just closed its doors (*sniff*)...The show went from 6 until probably 1 am. Jay was already down there when I got home from work and he'd left a note telling me to show up so I just decided, what the hell...and took a bus down there. I kind of regret going cuz the bands I REALLY wanted to see were the last two to play and before they even began I was just feeling too tired to stick around. The bands I did see (The Flying Dutchmen, RC5 and The Boss Martians) didn't do ANYTHING for me (actually, RC5 were pretty good..but who cares) so I felt like it was a waste of my time, but oh well. I'm sad about Fall-Out closing its doors. I loved that place. ANOTHER great record store (where I could find all my 60's garage/psych re-releases and stuff) Bedazzled Discs (in the U-district) is ALS0 closing it's doors. WAAAH! That leaves Singles Going Steady (which is good) and Easy Street for shopping at I guess, cuz I just refuse to buy at Cellophane Square..those guys just BUG me (plus they didn't hire Darryl Zero or ME when we most needed a job..fuckers!) I ALSO read in The Stranger that in a couple of weeks "Sit n Spin" will no longer host live music shows and that kinda sucks! I liked going there when they had good bands!! They also had good pizza (which I guess I can eat still cuz they aren't closing their doors, but I have no reason to go there unless there is a show going on. I certainly don't have to take my laundry there (Yep..Sit n Spin is a laundry mat/bar/live music venue...cool idea, huh?) cuz we have laundry facilities in the basement of our complex. Hmm...I need to check out how much the Public Storage facility about a block away from where we live charges to rent a small space. Turns out that we will not be given a storage space in our new apartment building unless we are willing to pay an extra $50.00 a month...that is a CRIME! Blah, blah, Blah..I guess I've talked enough. Goodbye and Happy Friday!!