2003-02-24 : The Last Poets, and why Darryl isn't anything like G.G. Allin
Didn't wanna get outta bed this morning, that is for sure. Right now I can hear one of the cats poking about and scratching away in their litterbox and the noise is irritating me for some reason. Damn cats..can't they be QUIET when using the restroom?? Looks like it's another sunny day, which is nice. Rather cold outside, though.

Yesterday after Jay and I drove north to eat at a Vietnamese restaurant we used to frequent and looking at shelving possibilities at Home Depot (we need shelving space to put all our records and cd's) I met Darryl Aka: "Well, at least I'm not G.G. Allin!" We had a nice time chatting in the sun and then we went to Bauhaus where I drank tea and he drank...Kool-aid, of course!! He's a very handsome and funny guy. He's very talkative so we didn't have alot of awkward dead air, and he's charming enough to actually apologize for thinking that he is irritating me by talking too much (which he wasn't) and that is refreshing in these times when most people blather on and on, completely unaware of whether their audience is even listening or not. Anyways, I think, unfortunately he's probably gonna have to leave town, cuz the law is after him (just kiddin'!) so I imagine we'll hang out again before he leaves. It's nice making new friends!!

After I got home from hanging out w/Darryl, I turned on Bravo and was fascinated by the documentary that was on about The Last Poets. I'm surprised I've never really been exposed to them before, cuz they were INCREDIBLE. You can really see Rap/Hip-Hop developing directly from this ever-changing collective of black poets (who started performing in 1968)...Then I swooned over Benicio Del Toro (sizzle, sizzle) who was the guest on "Inside the Actor's Studio."

Well, time to get ready for work, and DAMNNIT...I needed to jump in the shower in about 10 minutes and Jay is now using the shower, meaning there will be no hot water when I need it. Oh well...Maybe I"ll forgo the shower..it's not like I'm dirty or anything:)