2003-03-03 : Why Plays are not my thing and Why Jay Loves Me
Hey! Today is 3-3-03 (or 3-3-3) and it has GOTTA be a good day for me seeing as how 3 is my favorite number!! I'm already feeling the power of the day because I'm wearing a bright pink skirt!? I have no idea what I'm talking about..ha ha! Let's see...Jill came over Saturday night and I forced her to listen to The Misfits and even a Christian Death song in a fit of nostalgia from our old "death rock" days when we first met each other, and she humored me and even laughed. My manicotti turned out very good, though stuffing those little shells with ricotta cheese mixture is such a pain in the proverbial ASS that I ended up just opening up the shells, stuffing globs of the cheese mixture in with my fingers and semi resealing the tubes back together. I drank most of the bottle of red wine ("Smoking Loon" was the name of it and I'd never had it before and it had a really nice flavor) myself for some reason, and then Jill and I went to Barca (which is just a couple of blocks from me) and talked about our relationships and the pro's and con's of them, plus her daughter amongst other things while drinking $7.00 glasses of wine (I'm NEVER going to a place like that again. Who the hell charges $7.00 for a glass or merlot?) and then towards the end some kind of friendly, but ultimately sort of creepy guy w/a blonde pseudo Euro-mullet and big bags under his eyes came and decided to sit at our table and bore us about tales of being from Manhattan. I don't know why he creeped me out, but he just did. Then Jill and I walked back to my place, where Jay was semi-arguing w/the cranky neighbor next door about the volume of his stereo (it was only 11:00 on a Saturday night) and then the neighbor went back to bed and I noticed that I'd drank too much wine and didn't actually feel all that good and had poor sense of balance, then Jill left and I put on my coppery orange vintage slip and was on my way to seducing Jay (which was a big event, cuz we haven't been intimate in like 2 or 3 months..mostly my lack of desire, of course) and things were romantic and right in the heat of things, Jill buzzed our buzzer cuz she couldn't get her car to move (something w/the gear shift, or so I thought..and Jill swears she wasn't "too drunk" to drive, which I don't think she was), but seeing as how Jay was naked under the blankets, and I still had my slip on, I just threw my heavy winter coat over it and ran down in my slippers and took along a flashlight and proceeded to watch as Jill's tires moved but yet her car wouldn't really go forward or backward (she was parked on a somewhat steep hill) and then Jay came along to help Jill w/the car and I ran back inside (I certainly felt kind of like a hooker with totally bare legs and a short slip, slippers and a thigh length wool coat) in the dead of winter at midnight or whatever time it was, with smeared lipstick, running down a dark and rainy street. Unfortunately, the interruption completely killed the mood and I ended up going to bed and waking up with a not so pleasant feeling wine head, but I got over that.

So, yesterday afternoon Jay and I picked up my friend Lynn (whom I work with...Jay thinks she resembles Ileana Douglas and I can sort of see it!) and we went out to brunch/lunch at the 5 point cafe, which had good food, if not a very alchoholic-crowd-smoking cigs-and-drinking-gin -and -tonics-at-noon vibe (which sort of turned my stomach..it was disgustingly SMOKY in there, but the food was worth it) Then we drove to Everett while car-dancing to James Brown to attend "Dancing at Lughnasa" which Lynn and I's co-worker had a role in. The theater was built around 1905 and was very gorgeous. After the first 5 minutes of the play I just KNEW that I was gonna be bored to tears at this play but we managed to sit through the first act (1 hour and 2o minutes of pure boredom) and snuck out during "intermission", concocting excuses to our co-worker about having to miss the 2nd act (Our excuse: Jay was not feeling well from his greasy lunch and had explosive diarrhea)...We all agreed that it was torture sitting in that theater and nearly falling asleep (someone in a row or two back from us was quietly snoring, in fact)...On the way back we kept cussing each other out and saying stupid things in really awful attempts at Irish accents and I laughed so hard I started crying. Good times! Last night I watched "Lovely and Amazing" (Jake Gyllenhaal is LOVELY, I just drool over him and Brenda Blethyn is ALWAYS amazing..I love her!) and cuddled up w/Jay while he watched the Simpsons and made him draw little circles with his fingertips on my palm. I think things are feeling much better between us again and that makes me happy. This morning when I woke up, there was a simple little note from Jay on the kitchen table (written while I was asleep last night, obviously)...all it was was "I Love You, Stacey" (written four times down the sheet) "Love, J."..Very sweet. I've decided that plays bore the shit outta me (unless they are something like "Hedwig and the Angry Inch" which was phenomenal) and I will try to avoid them from now on!!