2003-03-05 : For Darryl
I arrived at Piecora's about 5 minutes early and to my surprise Mr. Darryl Zer0 was already there! He waved to me and I sat down. He shut off his lap-top and we commenced to talk about how I was wearing orange again and how he was wearing a red The Locust t-shirt and that we had subtly emulated the very colors of my diary! We ordered a large cheese pizza and we both ate quite a bit of it while talking about sex, strange sexual things w/potatoes and famous musicians we'd met (him:several, me:none) Our waiter was sort of surly and looked like he should be in a biker movie, not slinging pizza's on Hipster Hill.

I asked D. if he needed to go home straight away and he said he didn't so I invited home....to meet my husband:)

When we walked in the apartment it was dark, so I assumed that Jay wasn't there, but then D. said "No, he's here" and I found Jay in the bedroom (mostly unclothed beneath blankets) watching Kenneth Anger movies in the dark. So we invited Jay to put his pants and a shirt on and join us in the living room. We listened to music (Thee Michelle Gun Elephant, Donner Party of Four (Jay's band), The Flaming Lips, and the Lord High Fixers amongst other things and the three of us talked primarily about music, and those two did the "musicians bonding about guitar brands" thing which amused me, so I brought out my naked Raggedy Ann doll and shook it at both of them and Jay hugged the doll and Darryl touched it too. Boys playing with dolls!! I cued up some early Bad Brains footage on video that I had promised to show D, so the three of us sat in the bedroom on the edge of the bed in the dark and bopped along (and sang together at points, which was really sort of cute to me) and then Jay handed D. his guitar (a Gibson something..what the hell do I know about guitars?) and D. played alot more than just power chords (he said he was not a good guitar player and could only play power chords, but he was lying through his very straight, white teeth cuz what he played was beautiful and made me sleepy in a good way!) Then Jay finally demanded that D. hand over his guitar (boys are funny that way) and we talked some more and then D. went back home. It was a great night and I went to bed shortly thereafter and thought about how charming and cute D. is and how I definetly SHOULD NOT have a crush on this 22 year old that is leaving town in a few days, but damn it...I might have a teensy crush on him (hehehehe...Darryl is probably laughing now as he's reading this)...if nothing else, I'm sorta bummed that my new friend (and Jay and him got along really well) is leaving before we even really got to know each other. I'll miss you, Darryl!!!