2003-03-10 : Weekend passes, Monday is like a cold shower
Hello diary! I missed you! I had a fairly busy weekend and didn't get a chance to update until now.

My weekend started at approximately 2:30 am and then again at 3:45 am Saturday morning when The Man in #19 (directly above our apartment) decided at these exact early morning times to play his FUCKING PIANO FOR A LONG TIME, thus ensuring that I couldn't sleep. I was too tired and angry to even get out of bed, climb a flight of stairs, knock on his door and bitch him out. So I dealt with it eventually by tapping loudly on my ceiling with a broom (and unlike a time in 1992 in a previous apartment, my broom didn't actually go THROUGH the ceiling..yikes!) Then the piano stopped, but I didn't sleep well. Later that morning I made raspberry muffins (Jay is SO IMPRESSED by Jiffy muffin mixes..it never fails to crack me up!!) Anyways, I'm rambling again. I wrote a note "Please do not play your piano AFTER 10 pm or BEFORE 10 am. The sound of it woke me up at 2:30am and then again at 3:45 am. You may not be aware, but the sound of the piano travels and sounds like it's being played right next to MY HEAD! Thanks!" I taped it to #19/piano man's door. Hopefully, he will never play the piano AGAIN at 2:30 am!! And we aren't talking about a little keyboard here..we are talking about a REAL PIANO, with real power. Ok, enough about the piano.

Feeling cranky and tired (but slightly excited to eat birthday cake) Jill and Maya (the 6 year old birthday girl) picked me up Sat. afternoon to go to their house. Before the party started and the guests showed up, I played Barbies with Maya in her room for a little while. I got sick of that REAL quick. Mostly cuz Maya is a very demanding child and wants everything (including what MY BARBIE does and says) to be under HER control. That ain't any fun!! The guests showed up (6 girls who all screamed with the most incredibly high-pitched techniques...it was almost excrutiating at points..I had to plug my ears a couple of times)..there was one little boy there (invited it seems because "he likes to play w/barbie's too)..Maya got 4 barbies (she already had 29, I'm serious..29 barbies) and barbie accessories...some plastic reptile things, some game. Anyways, I was glad when the two hours were over. Guess I'm not cut out for kids. Oh well!! Then I went home and Jay and I got on a ferry and were at his parents' house in rural Poulsbo by about 7:30pm, where I drank two hot buttered rum's and got red-faced and loose of the tongue and teased Jay's dad, mom and Jay himself.

Yesterday afternoon I ate warm, home-made cinnamon rolls in bed, watched some TV, and then Jay, his mom and I went to see "Chicago." The movie was great. I couldn't stop smiling and I was really impressed by all the performances. Such great singing and dancing and visual stimuli (and I'm NOT a fan of most musicals, but this one KICKED ASS! I found that the movie kind of dragged in the middle portion, but the beginning and ending were full of pizzaz and sensuality....what SKIMPY costuming..it was great!) Then Jay, his mom and I went to the Olive Garden (mostly so Jay and I could use up our gift certificate from Xmas that we had received from Jay's 70 year old uncle)...I'll say this once..actually twice: I HATE THE OLIVE GARDEN. Fake Italian food and either overly helpful waitstaff or waitstaff that can be barely bothered to bring us water. As usual, it was a bad experience...the food took almost an HOUR to even come (and the waiter admitted that the hold-up was "the frozen pizza dough isn't quite thawed out yet" (Jay's mom ordered some pizza thing)....FROZEN FOOD? Figures....the food is so fucking bland. A can of Chef Boyardee ravioli would have tasted as good and that only takes 5 minutes or less to heat up. OOOOH, KEXP is playing a very good Mission of Burma song right now "That's when I reach for my Revolver!" I love those guys! I'm chair dancing. Anyways, Jay I went home last night, cuddled w/the cats and I read somemore of "American Hardcore..A tribal History"...Didn't realize that many people considered (and witnessed events involving themselves)Bad Brains to be a really intolerant (and especially homophobic)bunch of people. Great band..shitty people, obviously. But who am I to believe?? Darryl Jennifer and Dr. Know kept defending themselves in the book stating that "we were young...blah, blah, blah, we weren't homophobic, though" and I just didn't buy their lame excuses. Of course, HR wasn't talking in the book. He probably refused interviews. He's obviously a few dreads short of a wig (that was a terrible analogy..sorry!)

I'm tired of writing...it's Monday. Bye!