2003-03-14 : Concealed Garments and Green Lightbulbs for St. Patrick
I have a new obsession, thanks to ruthiebat . It is old concealed garments. Go here and read and look. Among stuff people have found purposely inserted up chimneys, in fireplaces, in walls, etc are: mummified cats, childrens shoes, cow hearts with pins stuck in them, corsets, etc. I found this interesting item (I think the book was called "Witches of Dorset" or "Dorset Folklore")

A piece of bacon stuck with pins used to be suspended in chimneys to interrupt witches in their descent, and so avert their visit.

St. Patty's day is coming up (seems funny for me to be celebrating St. Patrick driving the snakes (ie: pagans) out of Ireland, what w/my TENDENCIES), but I am Irish, so....gotta eat corned beef and cabbage (hah...St. Patrick's Day is an American holiday and so is the food and coloring of the beer and the greening of the river in Chicago)..My mom told me that my great-grandfather always wrote in green ink, and he used to paint the house lightbulbs green for St. Patty's day and I think that is pretty awesome!