2003-03-22 : A night out Alone and a House Party
I'm listening to Caesar....I'll always be indebted to Trace for turning me on to this band (and Hans, too!) I'm waiting for the hair dye to fully saturate my "follicles." Tonight I'm doing something I've NEVER done before. I am going to see some bands play..and I'm going ALONE! Jay doesn't wanna go and I can't get anybody else to commit, so It'll just be me...enjoying the music but feeling fairly uncomfortable. I think nobody thinks twice if a guy goes to a show alone. I think many guys do it all the time, but I doubt many women do. Luckily, I don't think I'll have to fending off guys hitting on me or anything, though it'd be nice if people were friendly and struck up conversations so I didn't feel strange being there alone. I really like the D4 and they are playing at the Crocodile, and they put on such a blistering performance the last time I saw them, that I just CAN'T miss this...they are playing with another band, Electric Six, who are supposed to be pretty entertaining as well.

Last night, I decided to go w/Jay to the party for the Tablet. The couple that hosted it (one of them is the music editor) have a pretty amazing assortment of arcade games in their basement...Super Pac-Man, Mario-Brothers and some other stuff I can't remember...They have about 10-15 games, which takes up alot of space, but alot of people drank beer and played video games. I tryed my hand at some driving game, which I sucked at, and also at some alternate version of Asteroids...Galanga, or something like that...which I also sucked at. I haven't attempted to play video games in an Arcade style setting in a LONG time. I stayed away from the pinball machine. It's funny and neurotic but I think I have a slight pinball phobia...I can't really explain it...playing pinball freaks me out. Don't ask, I know it's stupid!! I found myself sitting alone alot of the time cuz I didn't know anybody and Jay was trying to be a social butterfly, but I didn't feel self-conscious..just tired after awhile. I sat by the table with food and kept eating all the chips and potstickers they had laid out. I listened to people talk about things (such as 8 Mile, which I'd just watched before I came to party, and Scotland, PA, which I saw a couple weeks ago) and other such conversations that I had not part of and was too shy to interject opinions into. I Just smiled alot:) I ended up talking to this pretty Filipina-American girl named Kathy. She reminded me of a stripper in a way..she was dressed pretty provocatively. She kinda looked like Carmen Electra. We kind of bonded cuz she was there w/her boyfriend (who also worked for the Tablet) and she didn't know anybody. At some point, Jay and I and Kathy were looking at some strange "Research" book...it was on Piercings and Strange Mutiliation....Kathy suddenly said "OH, can I play with your hair?" and I didn't mind, but I thought to myself "My GOD..is this girl..HITTING On me?" It made slightly uncomfortable cuz I didn't expect it. Jay said he thought she was hitting on me, and later in the car he said he was jealous. She was 23 and very ditzy but very sweet. I was glad when we finally left the party.

8 Mile was a guilty pleasure. I actually enjoyed it, though I'm not an Eminem fan. He does have the ability to come up w/some really clever rhymes...mostly he's just a fool, though.

This afternoon we watched "The RUles of Attraction" which had good moments, but overall left me feeling flat. It was all style and no substance. Had a fairly good soundtrack, though.

Well, I'm gonna try to eat a falafel and wash this dye outta my hair. Oh, I dreamed last night that I was continually breaking eggs (that were on the verge of being spoiled) in my hand..just crushing them. I wonder what this symbolizes?